You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL - A terminally ill 14 year old girl won the right to have her body cryogenically preserved before she died

in #news8 years ago

I think she's old enough to make a request but not a decision. The burden becomes the parents'. This must have been more than difficult for both parents and then to have the court involved. I feel for the father as he was so opposed. The whole thing is a tragic mess in my opinion.No one has been brought back to life from cyro preservation.

Sort:  

We don't know why the father opposed. It may have been for financial reasons if he has other kids. It is not cheap. If it was free I don't see a problem with it, but nothing in life is free I suppose.

No one has been brought back to life from cyro preservation.

Not yet that is. I think it is entirely possible that technology will make this feasible.

The other thing is IF she can be "resurrected" and cured.....she'll still be 14 years old and who will take care of her if it's past her parents' lifetime? It's a bit of a conundrum and I'm glad I didn't have to make a decision like this.

Good point but I don't think that is a sufficient reason to refuse her wish. That will be an ethical consideration for whoever tries to resurrect her in the future. I suspect people will still foster and adopt children whenever it is.

Ya....it's a tough call. It's done....and we probably won't be around to see the results. I'm not for or against....it's something I haven't really given thought to before.

It would be fascinating to know if it worked on or not though but we probably won't like you said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62