Why Truth Matters for the Middle-East Conflict. (And in Any Other Situation Ever.)

in #news7 years ago (edited)


I.M. not so H.O., and myself included, we all gotta be more careful when talking about things we don't really know about. We're all messing each other up...


(Pixabay)



Here is an exercise for us.


Imagine going up on a windy, 10th story roof of a building with a down feather pillow and a baseball bat. Hit the pillow until slowly all the feathers are beaten out of it. Into the night, watch them fly away, hundreds of thousands of tiny white feathers...


Now, go and clean up (y)our words...


Please join this conversation to, contextualize...

Sort:  

I'm sure I read that somewhere. Kol tov!

I think I heard it in a lecture from Rabbi Mizrahi a few months ago. Thanks.

That makes sense then! B'vakasha :)

This video makes it sound as if all the reporting on israel.palestine is "fake news" and that's the other kind of "fake news" or propaganda I hate. In the same way RT is constantly dissed, because sometimes it's reporting is false and pro Russia. Everyone tries to blame others for being "false" while they are just as crooked or even more.
There a new doc out about Israel "Two Blue Lines". And J- Pilger has some documentaries + countless others too I imagine.

Journalism is not about finding the truth these days, but creating or copying articles that gather the most clicks, views = money. That why most "big" news sites and even in printed form are filled with pseudo news (pop stars, police, idiocities etc) and mostly not fact checked. So there's no wonder I often find myself reading RT and Sputnik.
And also it easy to detect wrong reporting. Just start fact checking articles yourself and keep in mind that simply because a white house paper tells something doesn't mean it true either. If there are no facts, there is no story, just propaganda, just like the chemical attack in Syria.

I don't think the video makes it seem like "all the reporting on Israel/Palestine is "fake news." It does point out specific "number of..." false stories though. I agree with most everything else you've written. And I think though I linked a particular video, the context of the text I wrote is about each individual, myself included. I appreciate your input, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69