RIP Avicii We Will Continue To Seek Bromance - 21 April 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news6 years ago (edited)

This week has been one sudden goodbyes, first I had to say goodbye to Arsen Wenger the manager of the only football club that ever mattered, the mighty Arsenal and now we've seen the news that Avicii as passed away suddenly at the age of 28.

Who is Avicii

Tim Bergling, better known by his stage name Avicii, was a Swedish musician, DJ, remixer and record producer best known for his tracks Levels, Hey Brother, Seek Bromance, Wake me up, The Nights and I could Be the one

Introduction to Avicii

I remember it like it was yesterday, I had been working for an online retail store at the time and we were always sent plenty of sample CDs to promote on the website and every so often I'd put them in give them a listen while doing my work and that's when I first heart "Bromance" the instrumental and I was already hooked

Then later when Avicii dropped seek bromance with the lyrics 2010 he instantly becomes one of my favourite EDM DJ's, I subscribed to his levels podcast and would play it weekly as the episodes were released.

I started introducing my friends to his music and I was such an advocate that they nicknamed me "Chevicii"

Seeing Avicii Live

A few years late the news broke, the day had finally arrived Avicii was going to perform in Cape Town, South Africa and I simply could not afford to miss out. The date was the 31 March 2012 at Thunder City and Avicii's set would start after midnight. It's a night I will never forget. I remember DJ fresh warming up the crowd for his introducation and once he stepped on stage the reception was absolulately insane.

His set was natrually the best of the night being the headline artists and the energy in the room was palpable for the complete 1 and a half our set which included Seek Bromance, Levels and tracks from Nicky Romero and Allesso. Basically every track we wanted to hear was layed out infront of us with an epic light show and thousands of us going completely mental.

Avicii Tour Line-up - Cape Town

  • 5pm: Avicii DJ search winner
  • 6pm: Chris Jack
  • 7pm: Blush 'n Bass
  • 8pm: Ryan Dent
  • 9pm: Pascal & Pearce
  • 10pm: Goldfish
  • 11pm to 00.30am: DJ Fresh
  • 00.30am to 2am: Avicii
  • 2am: Dean Fuel
  • 3am: Shaun Duvet

Avicii on stage at Thunder City In Cape Town
Avicii Thunder City.jpg

Response from the EDM community

Since the news broke many of his closest friends have sent out their condolences with the likes of Tiesto, Alesso and The Swedish House Mafia all sharing memories with Avicii.

Screen Shot 2018-04-21 at 10.32.10.png

Screen Shot 2018-04-21 at 10.32.27.png

Screen Shot 2018-04-21 at 10.32.55.png

Responses on Instagram
Responses on Twitter

Without you

The world of EDM has lost a great talent and while he wasn't as big a presence since his retirement from live performances in 2016 due to health reasons his tracks will live on in EDM culture forever. Sadly we have to move on Without you, just like the lyrics to one of your hits.

"I got to learn how to love without you
I got to carry my cross without you
Stuck in the middle and I'm just about to
Figure it out without you
And I'm done sitting home without you
Fuck I'm going out without you
I'm going to tear this city down without you
I'm going Bonnie and Clyde without you"

Have your say

Which one of Avicii's songs was your favourite? Have you attended any of his concerts? What was your experience seeing him live? I'd love for everyone to share their stories in the comments below

Let's connect

If you're an EDM fan then lets link up, follow me @chekohler

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney Thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

So young for sombody to go. I really hope it’s not another drug overdose. This shit has got to end

That was the first thing I thought of when I heard the news and started going through the articles and there was no cause of death immediately! I see the dude that played mini me in Austin powers also died, what Is happening this week? Geez7FD313B7-70E6-4612-85F2-3A65E90EBA21.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90