Sort:  

I’ve always thought PayPal sucked. Looks like a great decision to drop it and get with the program! :-)

Interesting times ahead my friend

Paypal was great for the consumer but a nightmare for the retailer. Charge backs were overly common and I for one lost a lot due to buyers lying and PayPal sytomatically siding with them. Hopefully things will now change.

Good point. I think it would make sense for ebay now to seriously consider utilizing the Lightning Network on Bitcoin. That would be a huge use case and justification for cryptocurrency as payments in the traditional business world.

Would love to see Litecoin become the first coin accepted on Ebay.

While I am biased towards Litecoin, at the end of the day I really just want to see ANY crypto be used (successfully) as a large scale medium of payment in ecommerce. Ebay, Amazon, Alibaba, etc. If one of them proves the use case it will benefit everyone.

That would be interesting. LTC is well positioned for it's ability to function on the Lightning Network once it becomes more widely accessible.

I refuse to use Paypal. It's awful. No thanks and good riddance. There's something else here though to think about. We don't need ebay anymore either. Steemit.com does what ebay does, and we don't have a centralized control system taking tons of money from us to sell either. This place will replace sites like ebay, craigslist, linkedin, etc.

Good point. Hypothetically, how would a buyer and seller meet here on a price. Say I wanted to sell you wheat today for x % of your earned content steemit. Is this possible on the current Steem platform?

Yep, once we have the platforms built for it, and enough people using them. In the meantime, it would be a great thing for cryptos if EBay starts accepting them.

A huge step in the right direction.

I think that you are spot on. I signed up on Ebay to sell practically from the start. There was a time that you could do very well there. From my experience Ebay has been dead to me for a long time. I think that this is a move that they must make, if they plan to survive much longer. They need to do something to shake things up...

as an intermational seler, this is huge change.... paypal does not alwyas give best service but its worldknown and secure online bank

Lovely e Bay online shopping

Can the bitcoin block chain facilitate adequate volume of transactions for wide scale adoption?

Doubt it. Litecoin and dash are a much better fit here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49