OJ Simpson's Parole

in #news7 years ago

I figured I would give my take on the OJ Simpson parole opinion because if you have been watching any little bit of television in the last week you would have seen it covered. If not, OJ Simpson, infamous for what many called the trial of the 90s, when he was being tried for murdering his ex-wife and her friend. He was ultimately acquitted to the horror and also jubilation of many across the country. The murder trial was covered 24/7 and has become a cultural part of the 90s for Americans. OJ Simpson would break into a friend’s home years later with other less than reputable gentleman and take back some of his NFL era trophies and go to jail for armed robbery. He was given 35 years with the chance of parole and this week was granted the parole after 9 years and many are upset.

Mostly people are upset because they saw the armed robbery charge of 35 years as payback for the acquittal for the murder charge in the 90s. People who believe he committed the murder rejoiced when he finally was sent to jail. Now watching him be set free seems like another slap to the face to the American public. In the years OJ was in jail many award winning shows and movies have come out about the trial, the way it was conducted and many inconsistencies that came up in the years after. For example, OJ attempted to write a book called “If I did it” which to many was basically just a book that said “here is how I did it and look at me im free now”.

Even if he were to come out and say “Yes I did it, I murdered my ex-wife and got away with it!” there is no way to put him in jail because of what is called double jeopardy, meaning one can not be charged for the same crime twice. He can be taken to other claims courts, but ultimately he cant be sent to jail for the murder itself. It should be no surprise from how im writing this article when I say that I completely believe he committed the murder of his ex wife and her friend, but you might be surprised to hear that I actually agree with the decision to parole him.

In my mind OJ Simpson is a monster, but on all accounts in relation to the United States justice system, OJ was acquitted of murder. The armed robbery case that he was ultimately convicted of, in my opinon, went too far with the sentencing, mostly because people wanted to use the sentence as a sort of payback for the acquittal of murder. I don’t like that he is now going to be walking around on the streets, but we must set rules and stick by those rules. If there was a failure in all of this, it was by the united states justice system and how it can be essentially gamed.

We must treat the armed robbery case as a completely separate issue and at his parole hearing, the man that was robbed pushed for his parole. OJ by all accounts was a relatively good inmate for 9 and ½ years of the 35 year sentence and parole for a crime of this nature is completely understandable. If we believe that he should still be in jail, our qualms should lay with the system itself and not the individual. The rules of the justice system, in my opinion, let him free for murder, but that doesn’t mean we can lock him up for the same amount of time as payback for another unrelated crime.


Thanks to @Elyaque for the badges

Sort:  

good post:)

You are right. His case could only be ruled upon as it related to the armed-robbery charge. He is also 70-years old, making recidivism less likely (at least that is what the statistics show). At this age, he is going to experience increased health-care costs, particularly because he is a veteran of the National Football League, which means that his body was subjected to severe punishment--the deterioration will likely be pronounced. Better to let him foot his own healthcare costs than have the taxpayers of Nevada footing any part of those costs.

Well said. Any other conclusion opens everyone up to effective vigilante justice from the government, where prosecutors will trump up any sentence if they feel the state has a score to settle.

yeah definitely a lot of vigilante justice from the media.

I found it ridiculous when I read in the news that they caught him "masturbating" in his cell. My first thought was, who freaking cares, they are in prison, let them get one off if it helps them. I guess it's against prison rules. Crazy. I'm with you, I think he's guilty and did it, and yes, he can't be charged with murder. But that being said, people get denied parole for a slew of things, and if people think he's guilty, they'd probably figure out a way to deny him parole, and we the public, would probably never know about what it was. But you are probably right that denying parole for this kind of charge is not normal. I read the masturbating thing was going to hurt his parole, but I guess not? I didn't know he was granted parole yet.

Yeah and why is masturbating in a cell even illegal ? Do they expect a man to not masturbate for 9 years ? It didnt hurt him though, hell be released in october.

Wow. That's crazy. I believe the parents of Nicole and her boyfriend aren't terribly happy. Did you catch the OJ Simpson Movie on Netflix? Great show.

Good post, this news has not hit mainland China yet cause I hadn;t heard it til now. I did read some fake news about Charles Manson being released but that turned out to be a hype piece for movie being made.

I kind of feel the same about OJ. I don't know what he was thinking when did armed robbery. Seriously.

I dont think Manson will ever be released his parole hearings are insane. He just goes on crazy rants, google them if you want to see some.

Thanks for helping to put all this into context. A fair breakdown. I'm just relieved The Juice will not be moving into my neighborhood! :-)

yeah, I think he has money from his NFL pension still, so hell be moving to a nice neighborhood im sure.

I read he'll be making $25,000 per month in pensions upon release. With that he could buy up my entire neighborhood in about a year! :-)

OJ beat the system. He won the criminal case, but lost the civil suit. His recent jail stint is incidental.

However, murder is a heinous act and we all know OJ did it. Retribution may come at any time between now and his death.

Excellent post . I'm much more informed of course .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75