Sort:  

It's disgusting that the US are the world police. BTC-e was a foreign exchange, owned by foreign corporations in foreign countries. They had no right destroying the exchange.

Putin should've stepped in, as it was direct theft from hundreds of thousands of russians who used the exchange, probably into the US gov's pockets.

Unfortunately Царь Putin picks his battles, and as far as thefts from the russian people that have occurred over the course of the last generation go, the magnitude of this one is so insignificant it doesn't even make a blip on the radar.

I have no interest in working with btc-e. I love the current exchanges. I do welcome them to the community with open arms though and I hope with a few years work they can establish themselves and prove themselves worthy to use.


http://www.FlippyCoin.com is the #1 Cryptocurrency Exchange!

I don't really see how this is more surprising than the takedown of Liberty Reserve (a Costa Rican company run by a Russian citizen and I think other foreign nationals; among other things, it was the primary payment method for the purchase of illegal drugs over the internet before BTC & Silk Road). Or the USG seizing Mt. Gox's Wells Fargo + Dwolla accounts that had $4.3M of customer funds in them. Or the much more recent (alleged) blocking Bitfinex's ability to process USD withdrawals internationally. The USG gone out of their way to slow the growth of cryptodom on more than one occasion. And they love to go after the fictitious and ultimately victimless (other than the State, argueably) "crime" of money laundering.

I'm not saying that it's right, or that I support their actions. The fact of the matter is I love my country, but hate it's government with a passion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55