You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The BIGGEST Problem is American Gun Culture [dTube]

in #news7 years ago

I agree that more guns don't equate to more peace, but as you said, guns are part of our culture, and I also have to side with the argument that banning certain kinds of weapons, which makes enough sense, wouldn't stop these mass shootings.

It really does boil down to culture.

Americans like to blow shit up, and shoot shit, and we like to watch other people do it on tv and social media, and we think it's awesome. Celebrities totter about in their sad, Sarah Mclachlan commercials talking about how sad gun violence is, and then accept a cool few mil to be toting around a gun in their next movie or music video. What a ridiculous form of hypocrisy that is seemingly never ending in American culture. I don't think people should really have access to anything other than a handgun or maybe a single shot rifle, if they also have a hunting license, but I have got to say that I don't think limiting the guns will change much. Our society is too ingrained with gun culture. It's not something we can really fix right now, and society is so desperate for an answer, that we are all kind of grasping at straws for solutions, but don't necessarily want ones that will trample on freedoms. (I am not a gun clutcher type, I have never owned one nor do I really want to, but just for the sake of the argument here, I still don't think that will solve our problems.)

Sort:  

Americans are a different breed. The British found that out the hard way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64