Firefox Quantum (V57)

in #news7 years ago

The Mozilla Corporation as released a new version of Firefox today that is a whole new redesign powered by a new engine. The speed is superb, the look is bright and welcoming and your privacy is still safe.

The Main Page


Screenshot 2017-11-14 18.09.50.png

This new redesign has some hating it and wanting to revert back to the old design, but others enjoy it. I'm part of the group that enjoys it. It feels more alive and the new icon design is a nice touch.

Speed


This is where Quantum shines. Mozilla's new engine is 2x faster and consumes roughly 30% less memory than Chrome. I opened over 20 tabs without any issue and navigating around is a breeze. From their benchmark tests using Speedometer 2.0, their tests almost doubled the score of Firefox 52, even when using different machines with different hardware. Also, running uBlock Origin restricts a lot of background scripts and hides ads. Using this teamed with a privacy focused browser makes browsing times instant.
browser-memory-usage.png

Developer News


Grabbing some information from Mozilla's post Firefox By The Numbers they list a few bullets that surprised me.
First, it took a full year to complete the project. During that year:

  • 75,342 files changed
  • 4,888,199 lines were added
  • 6,886,199 lines were changed
  • Over 700 authors contributed

That's crazy!

Release Schedule


This varies with everyone.
So for me, I installed the new version directly from Mozilla's site for my desktop because I was using Chrome. Not anymore though! My laptop running Ubuntu 17.10 uses Firefox but I haven't received the update yet and my Samsung S8 hasn't gotten the update either.

They estimate all devices should be running V57 within two days.

So have you tried the new version yet? How do you like the redesign? I'm curious as I've seen a lot of mixed reviews about the look, but all positive reviews about performance.

Sort:  

I had heard this was coming but haven't tried it yet. I do plan to. Thanks for the info!

I didn't get it yet on neither laptop or cellphone.

Same. I'm going to wait for the rolling release rather than run the nightly build. Less bugs to deal with.

It is very fast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78