My Life's Journey - Forest fire above my hometown Drnis, on a mountain Promina.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

I am usually a guy who will write about good stories, and stories which make you smile. But today, I am reporting about the forest fire which is happening just above my city. It is a sad thing to watch. So much forest and vegetation which has grown for who knows how many years is all burned up in flames. It will take years and years for vegetation and forest to grow back. Setting aside the forest the is a more important issue coming in the question. That is the houses of people living just under the mountain, and the whole Mountaineers Home Promina which is one the best mountaineers homes in Croatia.

9014271.jpg

IMG_20170821_184306.jpg

IMG_20170821_184234.jpg
Picture taken near my hometown Drnis...

Great damage has been done already, but entire Croatia has problems with fires this summer. Many fires have been raging all over Croatia. Which is why Drnis can't get help from the planes. There are fires in Sibenik, Zadar, and before that in Split. Some say the fires were deliberately set by few individuals. I personally refuse to believe it because in order to do this you have to be a person without a heart and soul. That is the only way to explain it.

It started a small fire, but since this morning it has spread so much it threatens the entire mountain to be engulfed in flames. The strong wind blowing is not making it easy on the firefighters. If the wind changes again there is a chance it will also reach my hometown and burn down all the villages on the way there. It is a terrible thing to think about. Let's pray it such a scenario does not become a reality.

The evacuation is some villages have already started and I can't even imagine how people watching their house on fires feel like. I would not wish to anyone. I mean this is their home, this is the place where they spent most of their lives. In some cases, it is all they have left.

The fire has taken big proportions and here is the picture was taken in the opposite direction of the fire. What you are seeing is are not clouds. That is smoke from the fire looking like clouds. It is a terrible thing to witness.

IMG_20170821_185159.jpg

We need some prayers to keep the brave firefighters safe and sound. They are doing all they can to stop this fire, but the fire is in such an inaccessible area there is really not much they can do, but to prepare to defend the homes of the people living near the fire. I wish I could report a great and happy news today, but I can't. Please send prayers my friends for the people fighting for their homes.

I will keep you informed how things are developing as I have more information.Thank you all in advance for the prayers,

dbjegovic

Sort:  

its very huge fire .

Yes, my friend. A huge fire. Hopefully, we will put it down soon before more people lose their homes.

Thank you. I ended up going up there as a volunteer to help out and the damage is terrible. I will write about it tomorrow. I am too exhausted now.

@awakentolife Shortly after I got out of the military, a seven-year-old girl went missing in my hometown. I probably knew the concentrated search area better than anyone else in town. Yet, because I was not part of some organization or group, I was not allowed in. My mom and neighbors let out an uproar against the state police, who were outsiders It still did not change anything. It was a helpless feeling of frustration. She was never found.

Wow that is one horrible story. Knowing you might help find her and not being allowed to do so. This is how in part I felt yesterday. Helpless. When they did not let me volunteer at first I went to the place where they were situating people evacuated from the fire area. I helped to carry beds and stuff. After, by accident, I found out over Facebook people are gathering on our square to go up there and help and the fireman would let them. So I ran over there and joined. 30 minutes after I was on the mountain seeing it up close. It was terrible. The whole mountain burned down almost. We stayed there until 3 am. Then sent us home because we really can't help with big parts of the fire.

I will post all about it new post when I gather all the information. I heard some people lost their homes, but I got to confirm it first.

These fires always breaking my heart and make me sad. Stay safe.

It is terrible out there and seeing the devastation up close is even worse. 70% of our mountain is burned down and the fire is still going into to the night.

I starting to believe that so much fire isn't accidentally..

I am not sure. Everything is possible. One thing is for sure. Our fire fighters don't have good enough funding. We need more fire planes and equipment. They are driving 30 -year - old trucks and wearing old out of date equipment. It is a miracle they can stop any of the fires. But, our government really do not care, and that is a big problem.

Totally agree whit you. Especially for the government. They don't care for anything but for themselves.

Well, you live the same country as I do, so you really know what I am talking about. I think we are the most corrupt country in the world. Sad but true for the country with so much great potential.

You are totally right. We can be one of the richest countries in the world no matter how small Croatia is, but instead that we are on the edge of poverty.
I hope this will be changed once😊 I want to believe in that.

It will only change if we as people all stand up to change it. If you keep being this separated it will hard to change. The same like all around the world. :)

I am hoping for the bright future, but the bright future will start only if we unite. :)

OMG! That looked horrible!
(Goung to come back and read through later. Rushing work now)

It is. I managed to go and volunteer last night. When I got up there the sight was just terrible. Especially at night. But I will write it in my second report when I have more information.

Stay safe and hope the fire will be put out soon.. And no more fire this summer..

I actually managed last night to go with a group of people to help out. When we got up to the mountain and the sight was terrible. Especially at night. So much nature and vegetation have burned down. The fire is still not out completely out today. I might need to go help out today again.

Thank you, Eliza. Will do my best to stay safe and I hope your wish comes true. :)

Holy Hell! I'll ask the universe to give some fucking water towards you!

Thanks, brother. I am looking where to go to volunteer to help out, but authorities don't let you go by yourself. All the roads are closed off. Hopefully, I will get some answers soon, so I can go and give them a hand.

Prolly costly but I'd be constantly pouring water on my house and around it so the area around your land is drained. If everybody did it, it could have a wide spread effect. not sure if this is a good efficient idea.

Just let it go 24/7

They are already doing it. But if it keeps spreading like this even that will not help. No one really cares much about the cost of it now. As long, as they protect their houses.

Great work nice keep it

That's so sad, and scary... All the destruction, and all gone in minutes! Keep safe too...

Will do, my friend. It is a sad sight to see. Incredible how fast it spreads. Plus the wind did not help the case either. Will post some disturbing images in my report. Just gathering all the information now. Maybe I will have to volunteer tonight again.

Keep safe... I just read your continuing story...

I was, no worries. :) Not a pretty sight to see all the burned down areas. But, it will grow back. Nature is strong. :)

Oh No!! I'm sending prayers my friend! I can't even imagine what those families are going through that have to evacuate their homes. Praying for safety and protection over everyone affected by these fires and that they will be able to put them out very very soon. Please keep us updated~

Thank you so much @crosheille. :) Me neither. It is a terrible thing. I hope all will be put down soon also.

I will update on the situation later on today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66