Questions about Roger Ver's "Free Society" CountrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Did you hear the news from last week? Roger Ver and a small number of investors have raised $100M and plan to lease a plot of land from a heavily indebted nation-state in an effort to build their own libertarian, anarcho-capitalist country.

Will we finally have a place to point to when we are telling someone about how the "free market" and peaceful entrepreneurship can solve all of society's needs, rather than being told to go to Somalia?

Here's a link to the article. https://cointelegraph.com/news/roger-ver-joins-other-libertarians-in-announcing-a-new-nation

It's not public knowledge where or which country is in negotiations regarding the land-lease, but here are the criteria for an acceptable location.

  • Proximity to existing economic powerhouses (US, Europe, Asia)
  • Accessibility by water
  • Located in a safe, conflict-free area
  • Stable existing government
  • Nations with a significant national debt
  • A flexible constitution that allows granting sovereignty
  • Acceptable minimum size for the land

Personally I believe it will be a small island off of Japan. It fits all of the requirements, but also Roger speaks fluent Japanese and it's a very crypto-currency friendly society.

A few questions come to mind...

Since this new country "Free Society" will be privately owned, I wonder if there will be criteria for being accepted into the membership (like most private clubs and organizations).

What do you think such entry criteria should be based on?

  1. Previous wealth creation
  2. Skills that you offer to the community
  3. Philosophical alignment
  4. Other networks you belong to
  5. Character references
  6. Other?

...or should there be NO admission criteria and anyone who can get there has a chance to network and convince people on an individual basis to do business with them. They have the chance to "start over" and build a new, free life and a chance to mess up.

From the same article, I found the following quote interesting and philosophical consistent for such a society.

As for laws and their enforcement, Free Society will operate with a Voluntarist — or Anarcho Capitalist — structure, where disputes come to resolutions through private arbitration, and services like law enforcement and protection emerge from the free market.

FINALLY! We now have good old-fashioned competition in some of the most fundamental and important aspects of life.

Also, just imagine this...there's no public school to indoctrinate our children! Man, this place sounds incredible :)

I imagine that if you are a disruptor or only take value, maybe someone won't rent to you or let you dine in their restaurant. A land of true Free Market ostracization and helpful, voluntary discrimination. Reputation will be of the utmost importance and blockchain(s) will be a great organizer.

Answer in the comments below!

  • What do you think of the project?
  • Is it just a foolish libertarian dream or does it have a real chance?
  • Would you move there? If so, how much would you pay/month?
  • What value could you bring to help build such a Free Society?

I hope to be one of the first "citizens" aka entrepreneurs allowed to create value in this Free Society.

IMPORTANT: I have contacted Roger Ver and he has agreed to a Liberty Entrepreneurs interview VERY SOON on this Free Society topic. I would really appreciate your feedback and questions that you'd like answered.

Peace and Love,
Ashe

Follow Me!

Sort:  

There should be no entry criteria at all, no having to ask permission from "authorities" to enter or leave. You move there, and you have to make things work. There is no welfare or "social safety net" to prop you up--make it, or fail.

The only caveat would be: harm others and be deported. Outside of that, live and let live.

Also, there should be no "law enforcement." There should only be security companies, investigation companies, adjudication organizations, and bounty hunting. All services voluntarily offered on the market.

I would like some clarfication if we are to have public land. I assume a free society will have no public land and all privately owned. If that is the case you will set the laws of your own property including trespassing.

This sounds so great! I believe if people pull in the same direction, and build it on transparency and respect, this could become a huge sensation. A society I definitely would contribute to

it sounds so great :) How do you think you could contribute? What skillset do you have?

Entertain, motivate, inspire, communicate. I'm a writer and philosopher... What use can be of that? I'm sure I could contribute with campaigning and journalism. Also kinda good at outreach sales

I would definitely move there! I work in civil engineering, so my skills will always be in need. My only concern is nations nearby won't try something to undermine efforts to get a voluntary society off the ground.

i would live there as well. i'm a farmer, not sure if it would be useful there tho. so i'm buying tons of cryptos

Farming is a skill that will always be in need. Even if it is nothing but robots doing the labor.

Who would build the roads? You would!!

I use that exact joke sometimes! If I still get inquisitive looks I pull out my portfolio and show all of the road jobs I've worked on.

...such entry criteria should be based on. I guess if there are to many entry criteria the free society could easily become totalitarian.

i'm not saying that there should be any such criteria. I'm just brainstorming. Voluntary clubs have entry criteria, just curious if a nation would/could as well.

O that guys that wanted bitcoin to be regulated.

who does? Ver? I doubt that.

Is It Possible To Preserve Ethics And Moral Among Sharks?

i think he is very good person... he is supporting Bitcoin cash

I guess in the beginning a more or less strict selection will be operating. Then, as the country gets more populated, things could loosen up over time.

Greetings @urbanoid,
I'm reaching out to all my followers who have significant Steem Power to ask them to consider voting for me as a Steem witness - as I need the votes to boost me up the ranks and that helps pay my costs and funds exciting projects I have planned to help grow Steemit.
My witness application is here. Cheers!

Congratulations @ashe-oro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66139.00
ETH 3537.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16