You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Late City Council Meeting Forces Second Delay on Culver City Police Surveillance Requests

in #news6 years ago

Quite interesting and concerning on many fronts. I recently saw SMPD utilizing their drone for surveillance and support on a homeless naked man (on drugs) entering a home on my street. The use of the drone appeared more to document what SMPD was doing as opposed to assisting as SMPD waited 2 hours for 13 officers and 2 attack dogs to arrive before going into the home. I need to research what their cost and transparency is as to usage here in SM.

Sort:  

@armentor I didn't realize Santa Monica was using drones already. Unfortunately it's a tide that I believe will be difficult to stop. But with thoughtful and extensive limitations on use, hopefully the downsides can be (mostly) avoided.

I'd be interested to hear what you find about the SMPD drone program!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.92
ETH 3835.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72