Sort:  

This is why I drive a car with no electronics. While it still has an ignition system, which can be interfered with, I am looking to replace that engine with a diesel.

Already, I think there have been murders committed by hacking into vehicles. The only hacking that might do me in with my car will have to be done with an actual hacksaw.

The only reason I would want an autonomous vehicle is so I could drink to excess on the drive home from some horrible job I'll never agree to do. Will there still be DUI laws when cars are driving?

I'll bet all my SBD there will.

It's not about public safety. It's about power.

Thanks!

How would you get a DUI if the car is driving and is programmed not to make traffic violations?

I can think of a few ways. One thing they do now is 'sobriety checkpoints'.

Another is the breathalyzer device some folks are court ordered to install in their cars after they get a DUI. It'd be trivial to simply have them in all cars, that can just sample the air, and require no blowing into a tube.

I'm sure you can figger out more ways they could arrange to bust people for DUI given the kinds of surveillance we're already under.

Good. A patent should hinder development.

XD

How perfectly an illustration of the government helping!

The mere idea scares the living daylights out of me. 😧

Author's note: To be fair, the police probably already have the ability to remotely hack into your smart car (likely in the case of Michael Hastings, for example), but the idea of an AI cop car doing it seems to freak people out more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58