You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What a lying, greedy, backstabbing government looks like

in #news7 years ago

Thank you! I recently moved back to BC from living in Europe for 9 years with the majority of my time based in Sweden. I must say that at one point I could tell Swedes that Canada was quite similar to Sweden from a political and Societal standpoint. But after spending a few months here and listening to my friends and family speak about how it works I realized this was not the case at all. Maybe this is just BC, I don't know. Now, Swedes pay higher taxes but what they receive in return would blow your mind. Free day care, paid maternity and paternity leave, free university, 1 teacher plus a teacher assistant in each class, free supervised after school activities, free school lunch, minimum six weeks paid vacation, the list goes on and on. Many people in Stockholm don't even own cars because their transit system is so good they don't need them. Talk about investing in your people. Many will argue, well you pay so many taxes so there is no possible way you can make any money. Plenty of Swedes are doing just fine, trust me. They were ranked 11th in the world for GDP per Capita to Canada's 19th ranking in 2016. Anyways my point is, it's stories like these that continue to make me wonder what are Canadians paying taxes for. Because I don't see it, Where does all that money go? Clearly not to education, and to the children, which is the most important. Anyways, I got rambling, but I hear you and it's time for people to wake up and shed this every man for himself attitude that's taken a hold of North America.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story! I am sad that you have come back to all of this. I follow what happens in the nordic countries and am envious of many things over there. We will change and I plan to be part of it or even leading it, but it will take some time. We have to get rid of the people that are stuck in the greed and old ways of doing things. Did you come back to Vancouver? That is where I live.

I agree it will change because like anything, it takes going through some adversity to drive growth. I too feel the urge to get more involved. Yes, we moved back to Vancouver at the end of December.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46