ACHIEVEMENT 2 TASK: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM BLOCK CHAIN@DEBBY LOVE MENTORED BY CRYTOKANNON

in #newcomerscommunity3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone @Steemit, Good morning. How are we all doing or rather steeming. I believe all is well. I want to first use this opportunity to thank everyone that's been putting me through one way or the other. Seriously without you, I won't be here . So I'm just grateful to you @cryptokannon, @focusnow, @kadosh2340, @ladyofpolicy and my home away from home @steemalive and the host of others that I didn't mention , I say thank you. Thanks to your coaching I have been able to complete my achievement 1 task and and today I will be doing my achievement 2 task which is the basic security on steemit block chain.

It is of great importance that everyone that's involved in steemit or every steem user be aware of the basic security measures needed in protecting our tokens and passwords so as not to be a victim of cyber fraud or other cyber insecurities.

It is also worthy of note that the different private keys given to you as a PDF file when you registered on steemit is meant to be private. It is your personal property, it is to be kept safe, secured and not to be shared with a third party.

There are different private keys on steemit which includes: private posting key, private memo key, private active key, Private owner key and master password.

PRIVATE POSTING KEY:
Just as the name is, it is used to login to steem apps like steemit.com and also for other social actions like posting, commenting and voting.

PRIVATE MEMO KEY:
This key is used to encrypt or decrypt private transfer memos. That is, it is used to conceal information (memos) through the means of coding or Convert information (memos) into plain text.

PRIVATE ACTIVE KEY:
This is the key used for monetary and wallet related actions . They are used for transferring tokens and powering steem up and down. In the case of transfer just click on wallet and it will take you to this place.

Screenshot_20210602-202432.png

Then if you want to transfer just click on the arrow below the steem and it will take you here.

Screenshot_20210604-035323.png

After that click transfer and it will take you here.

Screenshot_20210604-035546.png

Screenshot_20210604-035614.png

Fill the form correctly and click next to proceed.

In the case of power up and down, it's almost the same thing. Just click on the arrow beside the steem and it will take you to here.

Screenshot_20210604-035546.png

Then click on power up, it will take you to here.

Screenshot_20210604-040104.png

Fill correctly and power up.

PRIVATEOWNER KEY:
This key is used to reset all your other keys. If your account is compromised, you can use this key to recover it. But it is within the space of 30 days.

MASTER PASSWORD:
This is the number one key. This is the seed password used to generate every other key.

Some important questions each steem user needs to ask .

Question 1: Have you retrieved your steemit keys?
Answer: Yes, I have

Question 2: Do you know the functions and restrictions of these keys?
Answer: Yes, I do.

Question 3: How do you intend keeping your Master key ?.
Answer: Since I know that this key is the most important, I have hidden it online and offline.

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer tokens to other steem account?
Answer: Yes, I followed the way debbylove explained it and it worked great.

Question 5 : Do you know how to power up ?.
Answer: Yes, I have followed debbylove's little explanation and I was able to power up.

CONCLUSION.
Everyone of these keys are important, so it is recommended that it be kept online and offline, backed up, powered up but most importantly kept safe because once lost, it can't be recovered. I have kept my keys safe, have you?!!!.

Thanks alot @steemalive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51