How exactly does this work?

in #newcomer6 years ago

I am new to this platform and have basically no history or background with crypto aside from selling some BTCs on EBay until they banned me. I was just wondering exactly what is going on here as it seems like something unique and special. If someone could just give me a brief run down that would be much appreciated. If not no biggie thanks for listening.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. Here is a post I wrote once I kinda figured it out. There are lots of posts you can use the search to find them.

I’m on Steemit…. Now What Do I Do? How Do You Steemit?

We use the discord server to communicate outside of Steemit... here is the group for new members of Steemit.

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Thanks a bunch. I will check it out!

Welll... so.. because steemit itself is built on blockchain technology, and also itself has a cryptocurrency, those are, of course, going to be hot topics around the platform--but they are by no means necessary to be a "steemian" as we are referred to, or to flourish in this, as you astutely observed, "special" place. Take me for example--I did come to steemit via crypto, but, I am far from a veteran in BTC. I do own some cryptos, and am interested in it. That being said, I have had more "success" producing "content" (basically, whatever you blog about/ support) more geared toward my musical talents; i.e., participating in an event called the steemit open mic, which is in its 72nd week... So, yeah; you post things, and, if you've notcied the monetary figure in the bottom left under the post, this represents the "payout" that is a function of the number of "upvotes" (think "likes" in facebook, except there are dislikes, as well...) that post has received.

There is much more, but, that should give you an idea. Find areas you are proficient in and make posts about them. Or, similarly, find other people's posts, and "curate" them, which is basically be one of the first to upvote a post, or find creative ways to collaborate like-posts into one larger post, highlighting the individual, smaller topics, but bringing them together under one heading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61651.26
ETH 3452.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52