SHAMANS JOURNEY

in #newbieresteemitday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1609.jpg

NOTE: I have begun the series of posts THE ROOTS OF WAR, THE HOPE OF PEACE, with the first post two days ago. Today was to be the 2nd in that series. But life happened and here I am, late Sunday night, April the 15th, and too tired to complete what I consider to be one of the most important essays I've ever written. So I will wait until tomorrow to complete it. In the meantime, I hope the post below will be enjoyable.
Steem_divide.png

I HAVE TRIED to categorize myself but cannot. I don't quite fit into any niche specifically, but am comfortable in several: shaman, mystic, poet, astrologer, medium, explorer, ancient warrior, and empath. This brief post will take you into my world. Hope you enjoy.

The photo above is of the canyonlands in southern Utah in the southwest of the United States. For thousands of years native Americans lived in these deep canyons, but are now gone. However, their spirits still reside here and strange and wonderful things occur for those who are open to the energies of other realms when they descend into their ancient world.

One such as I must be open to spirit, to impressions, to promptings, and so it was a few years ago when I was "called" to go to this canyon and be open to whatever might occur. I've learned over the years to honor these "calls" and follow their promptings. So I packed my camping gear, traveled 600 miles from western Nevada, where I live, to get to the trailhead leading into a labyrinth of rock and wilderness. I was the first one to venture into this canyon in the early spring. It was the second week of March, ice still clung to the edges of the small creek at the bottom of the canyon. There had been no other travelers in the canyon that year. I was the first. My two faithful dogs traveled with me.

IMG_1613.jpg

One might ask, "Who called you?" The Man in the Mountain. He called. I came. The Man in the Mountain is an odd geological formation that looks more like Jabba the Hutt of Star Wars fame than anything else, but he indeed has a presence, one that was last respected by the Anasazi hundreds of years ago. Their camp fires are on a ridge across from his presence. You can still see the fire pits and find obsidian chipings where they made arrowheads. It is a sacred place. Quiet. Isolated. Imbued with an ancient energy. Crows, my sacred animal totem, led me there a few years prior to this visit.

My dogs and I hiked down the twisting canyon, sometimes wading thigh deep in freezing water, as we pushed our way through dense willows, and climbed over tumbled-down rocks to get to the base of the sandstone mountain that was our destination. At times the going was so rough I had to carry the dogs one by one as we went deeper and deeper into another world. The canyon walls at first were perhaps 50 feet tall above us and the bottom of the canyon was on average about 30 to 50 feet wide, but the further we went the narrower the canyon became and the higher the walls lofted above us. There were places I could stand in the middle of the creek, and stretching my arms out, touch both canyon walls that shot up hundreds of feet above me.

To tell you the truth, this solo venturing, especially in early spring when no other hikers are likely to be around is really discouraged, and frankly not a good idea. But... ah yes, the big "but", I was called and had to go. I've been backpacking since I was 9 years old and am at home in the wilderness, but still, I was a bit concerned, which is a good thing. I was extra careful and aware.

I set up camp across from the Old Man and made a camp fire. After dinner and after the hungry dogs were fed I danced. Yes I danced around the campfire while chanting, calling the ancient spirits to me. None came that I was aware of. A disappointment but thats the way of things sometimes. So I picked up a nice slab of sandstone and while sitting in the silence with the fires light flickering on my face I carved my One True Name into its surface.

In the morning I dropped down into the depths of the canyon, where just a bit of early morning sun was shining, and waded into the stream, thigh deep, my sandstone slab in hand. I leaned against the sheer cliff soaring above perhaps a thousand feet and sang to the Mountain. Odd the things shamans do, but it is the way of things. After singing I reverently placed the stone in the water beneath the Old Man, with my name facing up. Here's the thing, the water in the stream rushed over my name and in so doing made a spiritual vibration that lifted into an endless Cosmos. Over and over and over my name is being sung beneath the Man in the Mountain, beneath a living canopy of stars.

The dogs and I lingered for the day and then began making our way back up to the trail head some miles distant. We camped out one night on the way. The next day we found ourselves back at my truck parked beneath some ancient cottonwoods. But our journey was not finished.

My experience has been that it usually takes a day or two to let the energy of modern life fall away, to once again be tuned to Earth Mother. And now, finally, I was tuned. I could feel it. A very grounded, whole, centered, peaceful, quiet, authentic energy vibrated within me. My energy was the same as natures. Now I was ready to experience what I had been called to receive.

There were no other humans for miles around. I was alone. I could feel it. It's an energy all by itself, this purity, this clearness. As I stood by the stream all the boundaries of "self" were dissolved. My spirit literally melded with, and became one with the earth around me. I was the earth, and the trees, and the fish, and birds and deer. There was no separation. This stunning, awe inspiring experience is a treasure, a gift, a vision of what is. It has been a fleeting experience for me, never lasting more than a minute or so, but one that has made an indelible imprint on my soul.

This is our home. This is who we are. This is who I AM.

May you be blessed. May we be at peace.

Christopher27459094_1731040416954460_8110938635129439225_n.jpg

Virtuecirclebanner1.png

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this read. I felt like I was with you there in that sacred place as much as can be expected in my current circumstances.

Hmnnn.... hope you are OK. Glad you liked the journey into the wilderness. Don't know if you spotted my post on Fremont Beans. Have some from those canyons. Experts say they are 500 years old. Planted some and the grow beautifully.

this beautiful location .

Yes, indeed, it is very special. Blessings.

Very awesome post, @mistermercury

Hey @positivesynergy good to see your comment. Great things happening over here with people I'm collaborating with. Would love to see your reputation up where it should be. Keep an eye out. We'll be sharing and seeking advice on some very proactive systems, all designed in the spirit of Cooperative Abundance.

Sounds interesting, @mistermercury. I miss my shaman friends. They don't have the internet... LOL... But they have another far more deeper net, so to speak... in the silence and depths of the Heart... Ahhh... And I love your words:

it usually takes a day or two to let the energy of modern life fall away, to once again be tuned to Earth Mother. And now, finally, I was tuned. I could feel it. A very grounded, whole, centered, peaceful, quiet, authentic energy vibrated within me. My energy was the same as natures. Now I was ready to experience what I had been called to receive.

I hear them, Mother Earth, Father Sky calling too... :)

Thank you, my friend

Such a pleasure to find another who can related. Just a little bit ago was feeling out of sorts so walked out into the field behind my house and sat under a juniper tree that happens to be almost directly over an energy line in the ground where water flows. Helped. I'd not tell many that sort of thing. But its true.

Thanks for sharing that, Christopher. I do the same, at least when the weather is nice; and finally spring has arrived here with some beautiful warm sun. :) I grew up under trees, but here the big old ones are very hard to find, because they keep chopping them down. Later today I will go take a hike up the mountain trails nearby in search of the biggest tree I can find that feels on or near an energy song line... :)

Fantastic. Mountains are a natural tonic for the soul too. Blessings.

Exactly, They are sacred sites in and of themselves. Plus, this one is rumored to have a crystal pyramid underground. Certainly energetic... Can you ((( feel it ))) I'm charged now, after a major energy drain last night with little sleep, after seeing with a low rep. I only get 58% of my author revenues.

Anyway, I'm also pumped up now, seeing my #1 crypto, Stellar, has been going stellar again, as the top mover the last week of the top 25 cryptos.

Blessings

Wow! That's great about Stellar. I'll have to check that out too. Indeed mountains are full of good energy. The only other ones I know of that might have some core or crystal or something along that line are the Sangre de Cristo Mts. in South Central Colorado. Those mountains really do have some kind of unique Ju-Ju. Glad to hear you are feeling better. If walking in the fields doesn't work, the having a crypto go Stellar does!

An awe-inspiring post, Christopher! I too am an empath. Things or places do call me and I usually follow. You have had some spirit interesting spirit journeys that have obviously deeply moved you. I hope you share some more with us in the future, but first I do want to read your series "The Roots of War, The Hope of Peace."

Well thanks. I'm really enjoying myself here (most of the time). It has given me a unique opportunity to share who I am and be who I am. It's not the perfect platform but I think a step in the right direction.

Give it time. I think it will correct itself...

Hi @cecicastor. I totally agree and am an empath as well. Thank you for sharing your words too, as they speak to me as well...

I enjoyed reading this story and you have a nice writing style. It's important to always (or at least generally) heed the calling towards excitement as will never lead us astray. Your shamanic journey reminded me of those books by what was his name, ahh yes Carlos Cast-an-ego :) The Universe loves fun too bro, that's why it invented it. Love the way your story ended with a Satori moment too. Peace In!

Bessings @eddiecorbyn. Glad you found your way to this post. I hope you have a great experience here on Steemit.

big yes for you steemian family @mistermercury

Thanks, appreciate the kind remark.

Beautiful. "I Am" :)

Yes, indeed, the language of Soul. I AM That I AM. Just saying those words resonates deeply. May we be at peace. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56