7 Winning Responses for the Happiness SBD Giveaway!

in #newbieresteemday7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I completed my first SBD giveaway! As I was hoping to introduce more positivity into Steemit, I asked for participants to leave a comment after reflecting on what they were grateful for in their lives. Why? Because...

Being happy is a mission. It requires us to make the effort to recognise and reflect on the smallest of things we experience or the unlikeliest of people we meet that bring a little joy into our lives.

The Prizes

  • As promised, all participants received an upvote from me. I defaulted to upvoting all comments at full voting strength because they were all so great.
  • A 2 SBD prize for the comment with most upvotes.
  • At least 50% of my post SBD rewards will be used to sponsor more prizes for a few selected comments.

Winner of 2 SBD Prize - @akayarchie

The lucky winner of the 2 SBD prize is @akayarchie with her comment:

One thing I'm always grateful for is my ability to live to see every new day.
Remembering my past, my childhood days, I feel grateful and happy to be alive. Growing up in an environment where they society cares not whether you are this or that such that any communal clash you're gone.
I'll always be happy for being alive.. Because it comes with hope.

The Other Winners

To be honest, I had a very difficult time choosing because there were so many awesome entries. In a nutshell, I got more than what I hoped for. I received 0.491 SBD from the post. 50% of that is ~0.246 SBD, but I've topped it up to 0.30 SBD, making it an additional 0.05 SBD for these 6 winners!

@leighleigh's granddaughter is the light of her life!

Thanks for such a positive contest. In all the drudgery of every day life I am most grateful to have the most beautiful, awesome little granddaughter who is 10 months old now. She brightens up my day with her almost permanent smile, her little "conversations" made up of baby sounds accompanied by facial expressions and hand movements. She smothers me with kisses and is an absolute delight. No matter what mood I'm in or how tired I am, she uplifts me the moment I see her.
aurora basket.jpg

@ednamatopoeia's grandmother is a SUPERWOMAN.

gm

I am thankful for my grandmother. I was born in Kuwait but ended up growing here in the Philippines with my grandmother since I had an allergy due to an oil leakage near our house. My mother died 6 years ago and I lost contact with my father when I was in high school. My parents are separated. My grandmother always looks after me even until now. She will be turning 89 this October. Just thinking about living without her makes me wanna cry. I love her so much!

@saltycat's family provided support during a tough period.

flowers

Having had some bad news this week that made me very depressed I am glad for my family that rallied round. My daughter came over to stay the weekend and my hubby has cooked tea. My dad bought me some lovely flowers. I'm just glad that I am still here today to thank them.

@aprilpeerless is on an inspirational spiritual journey.

I'm grateful for right here, this very moment..
I'm grateful for the breath I just took..
I have stage 5 emphysema. I'm not able to do much physically but this has put me on a quest to grow from the inside out. Because of that I have made my life bearable again and am able to share that with others.. I'm trapped inside my own body but I have never flown so high.

@beeyou reminds us all to work hard for all the opportunities that we get.

Besides the obvious treasures in my life that I cherish: family, friends, food, career, and music, I am grateful for all the opportunities that have ever come my way. By working hard and treating others with care and respect, and I have been lucky to receive opportunities throughout my life. I have seized each one by diving in as if it is my last. I hope I continue to receive them as I grow in this new world.

@profanereviews on his family and on finding his motivation to write again.

I'm grateful for a great many things, but I will try to narrow it down to a few.

I'm grateful that my wife is so strong and good at dealing with mental illness, because I see what it does, and don't know if I could enjoy life without her. I'm also grateful that we live in an idyllic town where the kids can grow up like kids should. It feels good to let them run around all day with their friends and not have to worry about drug dealers and perverts trying to steal their innocence. They will have time for all that when they grow up.

I should mention Steemit here as well. I had lost the spark to write for the last few years, but I have found a community that makes me excited to get off work and go home to write.

Thanks for everything else that's good in my life as well.


Thank you once again to all the participants. All your posts have been an inspiration to me.

If you happened upon this post, I encourage you to visit the blogs of all these amazing winners and leave them an upvote or comment for their inspirational stories!

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Awesome @wilfredn! Thanks so much and congratulations @akayarchie and the other winners, it is great to spread some happiness around!

Thank you so much, @wilfredn. I really appreciate this. Great entries from everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77