3 Things to Boost Post Payouts (Part 1)

This is the first post in a series teaching you about "Getting Paid to Post"

Step 1: POST

I know what you're thinking.

"Post?! That's your advice, Post? We're not stupid, of course you need to post!"

Okay, so you're already ahead in this lesson. You have to have something out there or people won't have anything to "buy". However, what are you selling? As a Red Fish or a Minnow it's important that you sell something worth buying.


Red Siamese Fighting Fish
source

Fighting Fish

There are many different kinds of articles on Steemit. Some do well because of who the author is. Some do well because of the content. MANY do poorly because the author has little/no name recognition and following, OR the post isn't something that people felt was worth one of their precious votes.

If you're still new and trying to figure out where all the money is, you're not alone. However, you can't just "show up" and expect to have rewards and accolades heaped upon you. You have to Fight to get your share. Those who sit back and wait are going to get eaten. If you're a Red Fish, you might as well be a Fighting Red Fish!

So POST. But don't just post anything.

Don't Post Garbage

My intention wasn't the shame any authors so I blacked out their names. I'm just trying to show you examples of posts that probably won't get you far. I want to see you succeed, so I encourage you to post quality material that people will find valuable.

1) Text Blurb

image.png
Does this make you want to learn more about it?

The picture of the post above took me 2.8 seconds to find. They're everywhere. Go to "New" articles and I almost guarantee you can find one within 5 seconds.

They're just a little information, but there's no explanation, no documentation, and not even a picture to draw your eye...just a flat gimmick by adding rocket emojis. This post doesn't have much value at all. The opportunity the author is referencing could be amazing, but I'll probably never find out about it because s/he didn't make a quality post.

2) One Picture

image.png
One Picture

The "One picture and no explanation" posts are more common in the "photography" tag where people share pictures they took of specific places. That's ok for that tag, but if you're not specifically sharing that photo in photography, or posting it for a contest, that really isn't enough. Give an explanation of what the audience is seeing.

Add some detail. If it's a picture of a place you like, talk about why that place is special to you. Tell a story about a memorable time you had there. Or list some of the reasons you want to visit and what you would do while you're there. Help the audience to get excited about your interest! Maybe we'll go with you.

Note: Do NOT use the photography tag if the pictures aren't yours. This tag is curated and if you're caught using someone else's pictures, you can be reported to @steemcleaners and they may flag your post.

4) Plagiarism and Copy/Paste

I won't post an example here, but it should go without saying that the content you post should be original. If you want to write a story on a topic that's currently being discussed, that's totally fine. Just add your own perspective to the situation. If you post a link to a news story, give an explanation of what is going on and why you're posting it. Add something to the discussion.

And Always Cite Your Sources!

3) Memes


Quick meme I made on Decentmemes.com

The above meme "does not a quality post make" as the saying goes. It's funny, but for most people it's not worth their time. Or they want more content. Or they're not the target audience. Or even if they appreciate it, people might not think it's worth using one of their limited upvotes. Whatever the reason, I haven't seen memes do especially well. There are always exceptions to the rule, but generally speaking only posting memes probably won't get you too far.

Post Quality Content

If you're not sure what to write, take time to sit and come up with ideas for posts. Read other people's post and find out what topics interest you. You don't have to post on the same topic all the time. Some people only post on homesteading or crypto currency, but you don't have to. It's ok to mix it up. Just make it be interesting and of value.

For example, if you're doing one of the popular #walkwithme posts, follow @lyndsaybowes's example and do a meaningful post like this. Or @davedickeyyall's Walk in the Snow. Give your readers an idea of what your walk/your life is like.

I recommend posting at least a few paragraphs of meaningful, relevant text with 2-4+ pictures. It helps break up the text and allows the reader to better visualize what you're saying. You can find free-use picture at https://www.pexels.com or https://pixabay.com. Make sure to cite them if you use their pictures though.

Have fun

Enjoy yourself! Posting on Steemit shouldn't be a chore. If you're not having fun, find ways to change things up. Make a game out of it. But if you want to be getting paid, you're going to need to put out quality content that will make people want to come back for more.



Ride Off Into the Sunset
source

That's Your First Step to Boosting Your Post Payouts


- What did you learn from this?

- What will you do differently?

- How do you normally get ideas for your articles?


Let me know in the comments section below!

Don't forget to check back soon for Step 2!

@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Thanks for this post.
1 learnt that the name of author or content is what bring you good returns.
2 i will improve more on my content as i writer because am a writer but a final student in the university studying statistics. So am working on learning some common words usage like been and being sow and sew. Cloth and clothe. Etc
3 i have Many topics to take me months as a story writer and an inspirational writer.
Once an idea comes to my head i write it down in a whatsapp group i created only for myself to be posting useful links to good posts and contest. So ideas not really a problem. Still posting once a day for now.

The name of your article can make a big difference. You can't (immediately) change your standing, so you work to improve the areas you can.
That's awesome you're able to go to school and have time to write. Self-improvement can help you the rest of your life.
Having a place where you list your ideas is great. Good for you!
You're coming along nicely. :)

Thanks for the encouragement.

It's great to hear you are actively working on your writing skills to improve your posts. It's that sort of dedication to your blog that will get you noticed and, subsequently, greater rewards. Having well-structured and punctuated posts will attract a better quality of reader and follower.

Good on you for making the effort and all the best with it @inspiredgideon1

Thanks for stopping by. I will glad if you can visit my blog and point out if any error.

Hey @themanwithnoname, thanks very helpful. I'm still brand new to the game (as you can see from the number of posts on my blog.

On day one I started a list of possible topics and ideas to write about. So far I write the posts in some word document and post them such that they are better spaced in time. I have the idea that it's worth posting in a somewhat evenly spread in time manner.

I am still figuring out in what direction I want to go in sense of topics etc. But at the moment I just write about anything that interests me. In the end, it has to be fun to do :)

All your tips are useful to me, looking forward to pt2!

There's nothing wrong with being new. There are a lot of people, myself included, who like giving tips we might have acquired. I'm glad you're finding it useful!

Writing in Word is a great way to get things down without having to post right away. Since Steemit doesn't allow drafts, you've found a great method of saving work. I agree that spacing things out a bit is helpful. You don't want to overload your followers. Some say posting at the same time of day is helpful too.

If you already have articles written, it also frees you up to visit other peoples' blogs and get new ideas there. :)

Good advice for ALL steemians to follow. Sometimes I come across posts that are ALL over the place and I will leave (no comment, no nothing) the post itself.

My topic ideas- I have more than enough to keep me busy until 2019 honestly and the gardening season hasn't even started here for me yet.

Looking forward to your part two.

Glad it was relevant!

Yes, gardening season is coming up. I need to start getting ready for mine. I didn't do much planning last year and it turned out ok, but I want to do better this year. I do still have a few green onions that I left in the ground. They're still growing, snow and all. :)

Good advice. I need to start making a list of these as a bit of a checklist to advise newbies.

I think there are a lot of newbs who just don't know any better. If we can break them of the habit early and show them the right way, they'll be more productive and we'll have less junk to wade through. :)

Some good advice here mate. Was scrolling through hoping not to find one of my posts used as a bad example. :)

Ha ha ha, never. You have excellent posts! Looking forward to the next Tobruk installment. :)

Why thank you good sir. I’m working on the next installment of my Tobruk series but work and life is getting in the way.

No problem. I totally understand. Gotta work and take care of the family. No worries. I'll read it when it's ready. Take it easy!

First off, great bloody post. The fact that this platform has so many copy and paste beggars on it can sometimes get rather depressing. On other notes, I wanted to stop by and say thank you for all of your support with The Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. I've been busy working on off platform tasks recently but I just wanted to say hi and extend my thanks. @davemccoy and I could have never gotten this effort off of the ground without awesome community support members like yourself and so many others. Awesome post and happily upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks, @mudcat36! I'm glad you feel it's valuable.

My pleasure. I've been most acquainted with @davemccoy, but you guys have been working so hard to help the newer people that I do what I can to assist. I'm not as organized and you two, but we all can play a part. Thanks for stopping by!

I'm new and still learning, and this was some good incite! I'll file it away with the other good advice I've been reading. Thanks for the great information!

Thank you! Glad it was helpful. If you have questions, please let me know and I'll do my best to answer them.

  1. A good advice on how to post a good quality post (catchy title, images, and quality content)
  2. Sit back review my current post, find out why and re-apply from point #1 above
  3. I usually list down some interesting topics for me (Others might not found it useful hence low paid for the post), I look for topics that I can write with effortlessly.

Thank you @themanwithnoname for this great guide!

Awesome! I'm glad it was useful. If it can help anyone improve their posts at all and help them get more exposure, more money, then I'm happy!
I think that's smart to write topics that are easy for you. Eventually you might branch out into more difficult topics, but as they say in sales, "go for the low-hanging fruit." Get the easy ones!

Thanks for your feedback! I think you're going to do great! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 5.59 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @themanwithnoname.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83