You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What can you learn from travelling alone?

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago

You're telling 'me straight. I first travelled alone at fifteen, hitch-hiking in winter from the south of England to the Scottish north and back. Many people might say that isn't foreign, but have they understood the English language spoken by the Highlanders? I turned sixteen a month later, and three months later I was hitch-hiking alone 12,000 miles away through outback Australia, which I still haven't seen all of after over forty-five years. Still alone, but no longer a foreigner. I've been away from Australia a few times, alone through France, Belgium, Holland, NZ, and the USA. I've always wanted to travel with someone, but circumstances have never been propitious. Keep on keeping on. 😇

Sort:  

Hi @simon62, you've been to so many places, where's next?
I'm sure you will find the right travel companion. :)
Steem on!

Hopefully a return to USA. So far there I've overlooked Virginia from Maryland on a trip through the mountains to N.Carolina, and New York City, again if I can, and San Francisco, again if I can, but next to Minneapolis and possibly New Orleans. Never enough time, aaah¡ 😕😂

Hahaha have you considered splitting them up into different trips?? Seems more possible than taking a loooooong break at once.

Gotta make the most of the money. No longer have income. Retired. Travelled around the world about three and Galf times, but now picking cities to spend a few days and take in environment as well as much as I can in about eight/nine days. 😇

Oh great!! I hope you're enjoying your travels in the cities :)

I once arrived late evening in NY,NY,and having no booked place, locked up my luggage in a station lock-upand spent the night walking the streets from Greenwich Village to the ice rink at Rockefeller. That was a experience, waiting for the morning breakfast cafes to open 😃

Oh wow, do you have pictures? I've never been to NY so I'm really curious!

I will look, but they over thirty years ago, so boxed away. If I find, I'll re-pix and post to your comment-line. Or maybe, if good, I might write a #freewritehouse post 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64