Which one is better PlayStation, Xbox or Switch—I’m so weary of fanboys

in #newbieresteemday7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Oh boy, where to start. I’m so tired of fanboys. For those who don’t know a fanboy is a person who purchases a gaming system (in this case) and for some reason feels obliged to defend their purchase to the death. These people take something that is joyous and make it painful. Just to be transparent I own an Xbox one x and switch, but definitely have no issues with PS4, I think it is a great system. I think I am pretty unbiased and will try and list some Pros and Cons to each system. Who’s knows, maybe it will help others purchase a new system

Microsoft Xbox One X

The Xbox One X is a fantastic system that I am having a lot of fun with and Microsoft is starting to do a lot of cool things to differentiate themselves from the competition.
Power: Xbox One X is truly the most powerful system in the world right now and that power manifest
Game Pass: is a unbeatable deal for xbox fans, 100+ games and now all new first person games will be available on the Game Pass, too good to pass up.
EA Access: is exclusive to the Xbox console for now. There is a library of over 50+ games for $30 a year. You also receive 10% off new games. If you enjoy EA games, this is the console to have.

Third party games

The Xbox One X is now the platform to play all third-party games because they consistently look and play better. It is also the only console that currently has free backward compatibility.

Cons

The Xbox isn’t the best place for first party games right now. It does seem as more are coming out, but it will take a while.


Image Source

Sony PlayStation 4 Pro

PlayStation has the largest install base and most titles that are exclusive to the platform. If you like PlayStation exclusives this is the system to get for sure
PlayStation Now has about 600+ games but the user needs to stream the games. As long as you have good internet it shouldn’t be a problem

Cons

The third-party games are not the best quality (they are not far away in quality though) If that doesn’t bother you and you don’t like Xbox games then this is the system for you.


Image Source

Nintendo Switch

First party games

First party Nintendo games cannot be beat. Already in year one Nintendo released a Legend of Zelda, full-fledged Mario game, Mario Kart game and a Xenoblade Chronicle. There is more to come like the ever popular Pokemon and Smash bros series. Nintendo has a huge catalog of properties that are very nostalgic for gamers. If its first party games, you want Nintendo is where it’s at.

Portability

The portability aspect is why I love the Switch if it was a portable only system I would have still bought it with no qualms. I never play it on a big screen unless I get curious about who it looks. Battery life is decent for what the machine is. Anywhere from 2-3 hours. It is awesome that you can play it on the big screen and its great feature for those who only have the switch as their main system.

Cons

The biggest con I see now is third party support. The Switch is getting third party support, however there is a problem, older games are priced near full prices. Also, new games and not coming at the same time as they are for the other systems and when they do come out its at full price. For example, Doom came out a year after the PS4 and Xbox versions. Now this may not be an issue for people who only own the Switch, its better to have a version of Doom then not have one at all. However, there are lots of gamers that own the Switch and another console and while it would be cool to have Doom on the portable. Is it $60 good to play an inferior version?

I hope that this helps with decision making. Remember that just because you pick a certain system doesn’t mean that the others suck. Happy gaming 😊

Sort:  

Very good.

I love PlayStation due to design, my favorite games are almost first out on PS and the controllers.

I like the system and never felt 100% komfortable with Xbox.

Switch would be a possibility. I dont ser any need to own both a PS and Xbox if it's bot for the games not out on one of the consoll.

The Xbox and PS is both very good strong machine. Ps pro beats Xbox but Xbox is almost always faster with New consoles. Thanks for articles. I have also published a few things about gaming. You are more than welcome to check it out.

Thanks followed you and I will be checking your stuff out. I prefer Xbox for sure but PS4 is a fantastic choice. I will be writing more about this topic so feel free to check back in. Thanks @scandinaviaguide

Allready following you :D

Switch for me! When I'm home I want a PC. I am totally PC master race!

Also, I'm terrible with controllers. Mouse and kb for me.

Switch and PC is an awesome combo. Question, how do you decide when to buy a game for the Switch vs PC when available on both. I have a Switch as well and find it difficult buying games that cost a lot more on the Switch. Especially when there are so many great deals on Steam.

I don't know, I have such a backlog of games on Steam/Humble. I figure, if I get a duplicate on the Switch, at least I will play it whilst travelling. But generally, if I have to choose, I will only get stuff on Switch that I think fits the platform well. So FPS/Strategy is pretty much out. I'm not a huge fan of JRPGs either. This I have got that are on both are Skyrim (couldn't resist!) and Darkest Dungeon. DD is the best on the Switch. Skyrim, not so good...

I just read that diablo 3 is coming to switch!

very interesting write-up Andy. I haven't bought a gamee console in a long time and wouldn't know where to start. You're article enlightened me as to the 3 main choices. I think I would go the switch route myself as I love zelda and mario!

Also I was wondering if you have any knowledge of the computer versions of the sim-type games... I am a huge fan of "age of empires" but haven't really looked into anything similar lately. Are you familiar with this and do you have an opinions?

Reply back to @davemccoy ... I doubt I will catch the reply here (and you can also reply back to me on DM on discord) ... Thanks and good article! :)

Hi @davemccoy, you have many options in the RTS world (the genre of "age of empires") The newest version Age of Empires III complete edition is really good. StarCraft has been recently remastered and its out for free. I have found that you get a ton more out of a RTS if you enjoy the universe. For me Halo Wars 2 is great because I enjoy that world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74