What would YOU! do then?

in #newbieresteem6 years ago (edited)

What would you do if there was no need for you to work?
If your rent was covered your food was there you had the energy to power your appliances and you had fresh drinkable running water.

Lazy Hammock.jpg
http://maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com/Dog-Hammock-Pet-Stabij-Frieze-1543634

It does sound appealing, sit around in a Hammock all day relax and wait for the sunset to come.
Or walk along the beaches chasing it, not having to go out and earn before you can live sounds very attractive.
How many days would it be, before waiting for the sunset got boring?
Travelling was one of the first things came straight to my mind. Travelling tho does not require you to have those things as they cannot be carried with you. (unless again we get to very fine detail and say what about a tent) When travelling you want those things available where you go.
I think the greater % of people would still work. I think a greater % would find the work they like doing and not working just to have a job. It could possibly bring a situation where lower paid worker now earn more, as the necessity to work 2 or 3 jobs is reduced.

It may not be obvious as to how all this can be gained. New technologies innovative science and thinking, are placing this ability at our fingertips.
To take the greatest advantage of this opportunity requires a lot of people working on a small goal, You could look at this seed as the seed that will grow an orchard.

![Tree to grow.jpg]

What work would you like to do if the necessity was no longer there to work?
Would you still drive a taxi cab or a transport truck? Would you still be a tutor or a pilot?
There would still be a need for currency. That is what you will buy your luxury items with like your phone or laptop or other future digital devices. This article is not about no need for a currency, Just that currency is not essential to your ability to live or a reduction in finance does not pose a threat to your ability to live.

Human_fist_different_sides.svg.png

There are many sides to a project this big, not all of them can be seen by one person or one group of people.
I see things which would need to be taken into consideration. #socialeconomics

  1. Energy.
  2. Water.
  3. Accommodation.
  4. Food.
  5. Basic Medical Care.
  6. Environment Conditions, both global issues and living condition.

I am sure there are many more, I invite you to write in the comment's section about your thoughts, your ideas of which parts of society need to be changed in some manner. Any other consideration you think have value or any moral objection to I invite you to leave a comment too. There is no wrong and right, Just a candle lit under a dream.

I have had this view for a long time, I have mulled over it backwards and forward. If it can be made to happen, the biggest benefactor is you. Both the Steemit format/platform is providing me with an opportunity to express my view and possibilities to a wider audience than the one person in front of me. I would like to give a shout-out to #newbieresteem and the people who use #newbieresteem @simplymike @davemccoy @ilyastarar @spiritualmax all of which have helped with support words of encouragement or inadvertently in their replies. Thank you all, {{{{{{GROUPHUG}}}}}

Teddybear hugs.jpg
https://www.flickr.com/photos/cdianne/3309461038

Sort:  

Hi @jan23com
A really interesting post. Without repeating my #introducemyself I have created freedom for myself and do have the chance to sit around all day and do nothing and there are many days when i do. Finally my time is now mine.
In my opinion what needs to change is the addictive desire to consume and to believe stuff is the answer.
And i think for many people we are addicted to stuff, programmed to relentlessly consume, to have far far far more than we actually need.
My purpose when I created my new life was to investigate an unexpressed artist who had lain dormant since a teenager. After 2 years I was finally able to say yes I am an artist

2016-11-27 23.05.32.jpg
This is an example of my work

But my work does not fit with my nomadic lifestyle as carrying unsold paintings and materials etc is a huuuuge burden.
I choose to sell everything, home of 29 years, everything and i live carefully and simply on a budget.
I decided that there were so many things I could easily live without. And my basics are covered. I live between uk with dear family and friends contibuting to the cost of household and food. I live in nepal, thailand (and se asia) india. I no longer consume very much as to carry it is a burden. My kitchen in thailand is literally a rice cooker a kettle 1 knife spoon and fork 1 plate cup. If I have guests I buy paper disposable stuff and we use our hands to eat. I only buy what is absolutely necessary and evaluate all my puchases against what i already own.
As art is not currently practical I am now writing, something I had not thought of but encouraged by others. I use my time to learn espcially local languages and if i am asked i am.happy to share what i learn.I also help others on my journey. It could be called work or volunteering but to me it is just helping friends. For example in 2 weeks i'm back in nepal helping to build an earthbag school and a skateboard park so I am a labourer. I have assisted many local people with language so I am a teacher. I have just been offered chance to help promote a buddhist meditation centre, marketing and promotions and to assist in teaching dhamma, teacher again. Tomorrow i'm helping a thai friend sell her organic veg at a local market, market trader. What do I get in return food accommodation friendship and a life of choices and simplicity.
1521556507771.jpg
While i have travelled and before in fact people talk alot about have a simpler life, going back to nature, always envy poor remote people who live with little in tune with nature. But the reality is this simple life means giving up convienience and stuff. I was prepared to give up much more than many of people are prepared to give up.
I don't want to be bored. Boredom is the universe saying get off your arse and do something. I keep myself busy because so many people, Friends, family, strangers have to slog and graft everyday, I know, I was one of them and I now spend time amongst people even poorer than I was and I owe it to them as a matter of respect, to use the time I have created to be of use and to benefit others and i still get to relax and do what I want.
I don't know if this helps you.
Yours was the first post I read
Not sure if you are as confused and overwhelmed as I am but genuinely wish you all the best in your dreams and goals.
I also want to thank @simplymike and @bashadow for letting me know about this new user space.

Wow! Quite a reply,@beestrong. You’re going to do well here on SteemIt. Watch my words... ;0)

I think it takes a lot of courage, to do what you have done. Lots of people - including me - are aware of the fact that they have been brainwashed to consume, and that they’re hooked on buying things they don’t need, but to step away from it is a completely different thing.

I know. It was not easy to get here. I had to change so much in myself and my life to get to that point.
This addiction with consuming is killing our planet, putting people into debt, creating false and delusional dreams that ultimately will not bring them any closer to happiness.
Thats one of the reasons i post so passionately. I hope i can encourage people to totally downsize, to simplify and free themselves...not easy but possible...nothing easy is worth gaining.
Thanks mike..
Lol i am so crap at this i dunno if i should hit your little green arrow in.a circle (upvote i.believe) or my own or what my comment is "worth" and to be honest does it matter...ill keep reading, learning and relating and trusting...i am.gonna press the little green arrow....lol...

You’ll learn as you go along... one step at a time :0)

Things have begun to make more sense to me, much still to learn.

That is a very in-depth reply, and I thank you for your best wishes. One of the goals in life should be happiness. I agree excess does not bring this. Your own dedication is admirable. I would not say you have a simple life, I would more lean toward you have a fulling life. Meditation is not something I have been able to master. My mind will race on various tracks with thoughts and dreams of equality. This platform offers me a small chance to make this happen or to meet with others who could assist. Your face looks familiar for some reason. Names and faces more often fail me tho.
You could still paint in Nepal, I am sure the people there would support you too, the paintings do not have to sell for a fortune. Paints are mere pigmentation made from the colours of flowers and other plants ground down to dust and digested into a liquid. The people of whom you work with I am sure will appreciate art as much as any. @simplymike and @bashadow are two great people with great minds. You may also be able to sell some of your works throughSteemit.
Continue to wear that smile and those around you will smile too.
Thank you for taking the time to read and the encouragement your reply gives.
My own dream is to reduce the cost of living for everyone. I know it is possible, I can see it.

@jan23com
I may at sometime return to painter. At least i know i am a painter now and yes steemit definately could help me with that. The paintings I currently have completed are to raise money for people and projects i personally know in Nepal. I always promised that if i felt i had enough that the rest would be to help others and the collection I painted in nepal is a way of doing that.
I feel like in my.50's i am on the biggest learning curve of my life, nepali language, thai language, steemit language, creating online presence to sell my art work, phew...
Stick with the mediatation. I dont practise very much. Just the thought of it calms my mind and observation.of the breath naturally coming in and out of the nostrils, noticing the mind when it wanders and gently coming back to breath is enough.
Keep being you. Authenticity will find authenticty, i am sure. Slowly we will find our people in this community and will build authentic relationships and eventually rewards...in many forms....all the best with your dreams and happy to support them as I know the up side to less...

Take your time and things will come together. There are many who will provide assistance

Short reaction on TAX:
People should have the option to choose what tax not to pay.

In general i don't have a problem with TAX as such. But i do have a real problem with the people who spend our TAX.
When TAX money end up in corrupt pockets, i should have the option to refuse any TAX that flows in that direction. As a way of gaining control over the ones that work for us when spending our money.

Facilities and economic incentives are not equally divided. People face hardships even in this age of technology due to economic restrictions. Currency is no doubt much needed to have a better life.

I could have voted more but selection of tags needs improvements. Steemcleaners published a guide named the game of tags. Search it.

Expanding your thought.
Facilities do not do what they are intended originally do in thought, as they get turned into a business which has a need to profit. The profit then gets distributed to a few and the cost to the many. The basic facilities needed to survive with dignity, do not have to cost as much as they do. A reduction in these basic costs would decrease the amount those in most need would need to accumulate. This has to benefit some and put others within reach.

I agree with the need for currency, I am in no way saying let all live for free and be happy. But I do think the cost of living is getting higher when it should be decreasing.

Thank you for the Tag tip
found it
https://steemit.com/steemcleaners/@steemcleaners/the-game-of-tags

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42