Sort:  

Occasionally, my brother has mentioned that it would be a shame to let the farm fall out of the family when our uncle passes. I agree – as this little farm has always been a rather large slice of heaven to me.

I totally agree with your brother with this statement. That farm holds a lot of past and future memories.

I want them to love the life that my uncle has loved for so many years, in his small quiet way. He hasn’t had a lot of excitement in his 80 years, but he has managed a lot of contentment, and that really is worth a lot.

I can tell you that being on the farm alone is exciting in itself. I wish I can live and grow old in a farm. So much peace. I kind of envy you and your uncle in a good way. You have what others don't have that matters a lot.

That’s why I want to turn 80 on a peaceful 40 acres, somewhere in a quiet corner in NW Oregon. And that’s why I hope Steemit will help me get there.

Your Steem dream will surely come to pass.

Thank you. I have spent most of my adulthood trying to get back to where I was growing up. My family had 7 acres and we did a lot with it. It has, sadly, passed out of the family now - hence another reason to desire this other parcel to stay in the family. I have always loved raising animals and growing food - it's all I really wanted other than to have a family - which I did manage. Thanks again for your comment.

You're most welcome. It feels good to learn from the experiences of others especially when they share it freely. Thank you for sharing.

Not gonna lie. There is still a part of me that somewhat wishes for a more self-reliant and less "modern complex" life like farming or ranching.

These days, it just seems nearly impossible to ever achieve that on my own.

Back in the day, no one expected to achieve it completely on their own - even in the times of "Little House on the Prairie." Everyone had a niche and bartered what they had excess of for the things they didn't have. Of course, everyone would have had a garden to grow what they could.

Even without a lot of land, you can learn how to grow or forage...
Even with no land at all, you can learn to buy produce when it's cheap and abundant and learn how to preserve and can it. I highly recommend some of the "rebel" or "outlaw" canner groups on Facebook for learning the old ways - without all the "thou shalt not" rules that are imposed by others.

Good luck and thanks for your comment.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oregon always surprising us

Yes, it does. Great place!

Gorgeous!! 😅❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32