You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Basic Income Giveaway (Rules and Laws)

I always viewed laws as black and white, but saw “rules and regulations” as more nuanced. I guess in the United States I would say laws are things where you get charged with a felony if you violate them, while rule and regulation infractions only result in a misdemeanor or a fine.

Having established that, I do believe that rules should be treated more as guidelines. I have always viewed them as a sort of mechanism to police intentionally bad behavior. A good example being speeding while driving, which is generally not enforced when everyone is speeding. It’s only when that one person starts going way faster than everyone else that he gets pulled over.

I think they are guidelines in that they set expected behavior, and provide a means to punish someone who goes way over the line. To use your cell phone example: I have been in doctors offices and other places that have signs that say “no cell phone use”, and yet I have often quietly gone ahead and used my phone anyway. No one has ever said a word to me, because I am courteous and I remain aware of my surrounds and responsive when I’m called to the desk or when the queue moves forward. But if someone else were on their phone and they were being particularly loud or rude or simply oblivious to the world around them, the rule provides a mechanism to punish this person.

Bottom line: rules are not necessarily made to be broken, but they are made to be respected in the sense of the “spirit of the law” if not the letter.

Sort:  

It is a good example you give with the mobile phone (and I agree in part). However, couldn't someone who was loud and discourteous who was pulled aside for the rule-breaking have a cause for pointing at you and saying why wasn't he breaking the rule? Which could lead to a slightly more nuanced contrast, when have you stepped over the guideline? Where that line is, will depend on the person who is going to say something.

I park my car outside my garage, which is technically illegal, but none of my neighbours have a problem with it, as everyone does it (or the verges). However, last Christmas, someone did have a problem with it, and the entire neighbourhood got fined after they called police! So, in this case, the rule is enforced by the squeakiest wheel!

... also, about the speed limits. I live on a small road with a limit of 30kph, for good reason, there are limited sight lines and lots of kids and schools. However, there are many people who treat it as a "guide" and choose to race through at speeds that are much much faster! In this case, I would wish that the limit was more strictly enforced, as it is too late to be enforced after an accident...

...but it is good that you point out the difference between rule and law. I hadn't thought about that when I posted the question, I was just using the two words as synonyms.

Interesting examples, I can definitely appreciate them all!

You are correct, in the first example he most certainly point to me. In that scenario I would expect (and would comply with) the business asking everyone to put away their phones. This kind of hypothetical situation reminds me of the phrases “you’re ruining it for the rest of us!” and “this is why we can’t have nice things!” 😂

Definitely, give an inch....

Although, that is why we (as a society) constantly test the boundaries and interpretations of laws in court....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75