Time to Get Started

in #newbie7 years ago (edited)

Hello,

 So after two weeks of having an account here with steemit, I'm now deciding to give it a start and see how all of this works out.  Currently on coffee cup 1 1/2, Suede queued up on Winamp, yes I still use winamp, and feeling a revisiting of Brit Pop classics is in order.

Has anyone ever gotten sucked into the youtube k-hole of watching top of the PoPs and realized that technically every band on it is an unplugged set? It's pretty funny, actually. Nirvana probably did the best take on it since they went on to make it overly dramatic on showcasing that they weren't actually playing.

Also coming around, it's amusing how things that I hated so much as a teenager in the early 90's I actually kind of love now, like Blur. I thought they were about the lamest band when they came out. I absolutely HATED their Boys and Girls track, but you know it's actually really a great song. Maybe I kind of liked them really then, but was too proud to admit it. Seriously, this shit is golden:

Now on coffee number 2, and still on the youtube kick. Sinead O'connor's Put Your Hands on Me was an amazing song. The MC Lite breakdown kills it, but luckily there's an edit on youtube where it's omitted. This highly redeems the track for me. She also did an amazing cover of "Haunted" with Shane McGowan that the Irish side of me thirsts for a shot of whiskey when I hear it.

Sort:  

I didn't really care for Blur until Song 2 came out, years later when I started learning to play guitar I developed a serious appreciation for the work they did on Modern Life is Rubbish.

Lol, I hated them so much, but deep down I think I always secretly liked them. It's hard to admit liking Brit-Pop sometimes.

When you've grown up on punk and metal, its always hard to admit that you like any pop song.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49