You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Advice From a Little Fish to a Little Fish

in #newbie7 years ago

Appreciate the advice. I joined steemit a couple of weeks ago and have written a few posts and I had the same sentiment.
I poured my heart out and yet no one noticed my content.
In marketing they always say that content is long but no matter how good or bad you are if no one knows you or see its content then it is useless.
Then I see some post of just a selfie getting so much votes and comments of how pretty or handsome some is and you have your post not getting any traction and you feel bad.
I know we should not compare but I have to be honest it felt bad.
So I left the notion of needing upvotes and decided that I should be writing for myself and if someone upvotes then that is just the cherry on top.
I am now following people and commenting on posts that I like. I am making an organic connection and hopefully building a relationship.
I like the community so far as I have been inspired by some great writers who wrote from their hearts.
I despite some people on the other hand that just post and want to make a quick buck. There was this group that was posting like crazy and was critizing whales and who they vote for and get jealous when they see other people earn more. When I felt l was turning like them I knew I had to leave.

Thanks again for your post and keep being awesome.

Sort:  

I feel you. I wrote a funny take on how to get Americans to watch Soccer (A "sport" we hate ) I put hours into it, and nothing. Not even one comment. Zero, zilch, nada. Then I did a ton of research On Josephine Baker, and another on James Dean, I migh as well have yelled into the wind! lol! I was working up to posting daily, but decided to slow my pace down, and only write when i feel something strikes me.

Writing is fun. But it's odd, the only people I do hear from, all seem to come from the same country, and have Steemit sites filled with copied material from English-speaking websites. They are getting attention. Everything I write, comes from me. Period. I do feel I'm growing very slowly, but naturally.

I do many rewrites. Finding just the right image can take a good hour. And I still wanna tinker with it some more, so I have to force myself to stop and publish.

I know if we keep at it, soon we'll reach that tipping point and leave the Minnow pond for deeper waters. Hang in there, even Whales get full eventually and may share some juicy morsels with us! :)


source

I just read your piece on James Dean. Well done!! I see what you mean as not many people even viewed it. I think I'll head over to the Minnow Support Project discord. I can have them upvote my post and they share a link if I remember correctly. It may help you and some of the other people here.

Very nice of you to do that, thanks. I just looked at it now and saw I spelled Donald Turnipseed's last name wrong and linked it! lol We'll pretend we didn't see that. Selecting that picture of Dean took 20 minutes. It had to be the right one, and not a pic that had been seen too often. I feel like I gave birth with that one! :)

Of course the bot wasn't working. Here are a couple links that may help: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw and https://steemit.com/@minnowsupport

Yes, I think I registered with them and the bot with a "b" was the one that worked.

Same here. Oh well. :)

Yes, it's just not right to see empty meaningless posts get tons of votes just because the people are popular. Other times you see someone posting junk constantly throughout the day for the pennies to add up. I don't think there's anything that can really be done to change this, aside from people like me and you coming along and leading by example by posting what our passions are and upholding the integrity of the community where we're at. Thank you for reading my post and sharing your experience of steemit thus far!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27