The Sigh Of Relief Felt Around The World

in #new4 years ago (edited)

e27d87_84ad9c83da354a9d8ac5fab63218eea8_mv2.webp

It seems too good to be true, but I feel such a sense of renewed optimism, I could cry. The result of the US election has gone a long way to restore my faith in humanity, and even in the future. Whatever it is Im feeling right now, I have never (in 51 years) felt before.

Last night I felt hope in the air, like a pressure had been lifted and now there's space for something new to take hold.
I've already remarked about how much it meant to me watching Americans taking back their dignity and self-respect and putting that pretender in his place, once and for all. I tell you, in my estimation things had become so bad, that I had absolutely no doubt that Trump would find his way back to another term in office. So, when late on Saturday evening I turned to CNN steeling myself for the ultimate insult, and saw that the American people seemed hell-bent on kicking him the hu
When I reference 'how bad things had become in my estimation', the following is an excerpt of a rant I made a note of during the last couple of months:

"THE ONLY THING THAT STILL SURPRISES ME IS MY CONTINUOUS CAPACITY FOR OUTRAGED INCREDULITY; IT IS THE MOST CONSISTENT REACTION I HAVE ANY TIME I WATCH THE NEWS OR ENGAGE TOO LONG WITH REALITY."

Too much has disillusioned, dismayed and disappointed; not at all what I expected from the new millennium. I actually feel like the western world starting coming unhinged when technology started to swallow everything in it's path and the early years of the internet saw a lot of change. And that wasn't an easy time for the world to adapt to and then I guess somewhere at the back of our minds we rationalized - hey, the new millennium - there'd be good times ahead. What there was was 9/11. That is when the world's psyche changed and so did our perspective; that was really when we became a global community, but I don't think we really acknowledged it and it changed us. In so many ways, humanity has been spiralling ever since.

Maybe that is why it felt so good to see Trump being swept so briskly off the stage he had such fun performing on. It was cathartic to see good triumph over evil like that, and to watch order being restored. With all my heart I hope this can be a global turning point, and that this signals a new challenge for the collective consciousness to heal, learn and grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46