My stay at the beautiful New York Palace Hotel

in #new8 years ago (edited)

I'm the type of person who does there research on everything. When I say everything i'm mean from socks to car phone holders I need to find the best out there. It was my first time to The Big Apple and I wanted it to be at a nice place to stay that is affordable.
Here's why I had a wonderful experience at the New York Palace Hotel.

  1. Fantastic Location
  2. Good Price
  3. Excellent Room
  4. Friendly Staff

  1. The hotel is located at 455 Madison Ave at 50th St. I was able to reach the very popular 5th ave in a few minutes by walk. Popular restaurants were nearby i.e. McDonald's, Chipolte Mexican Grill, and
    Il Corso. The only thing missing was a nearby pharmacy in case there was a need to pick up some goodies or essentials.

I liked the location of the hotel because it was not located right at the busiest streets from
2nd ave to 8th ave. The noise of people , traffic, and sounds of a city that never sleeps maybe OK in the day but not at 4 AM when you are in your bed at your hotel room.

2.I stayed in the deluxe guest room in this 4+ star rated hotel. The price will vary at different times in the year but it was affordable relative to others hotel's in its class. I would recommend buying in advance but not too far in advance over purchasing the room in the last minute. Arranging time off work and babysitting may become an issue.

The reason I said buying not too far in advance is because you are relying on Mother Nature to co-operate with your plans. I usually try to buy two weeks in advance because you advance forecasts are for up to that long. The only exception to that is if you don't care what the weather will be and just roll with it or you are going to a place where the weather hardly changes i.e. Hawaii, Arizona, or California etc. Trip insurance does exist but that costs extra and if you do have to use it you will have to revise your plans all over again.



3.Friendly Staff. At check in the first staff member I came in contact with was expressionless. I thought that might be a bad sign but the more staff members that I ended up meeting greeted me as I entered and left the hotel. Overall I was happy with their hospitality.

4.Before going to the room I saw the room key and I was a little concerned. I was expecting an electronic key but instead I got an object that looked like an old fashioned key with groves on the sides. If the key is old fashioned what will the room look like? I hoped it would be similar to the pics I saw online.

Wow, I was amazed to see that the room was big, clean, and had far more than just the basics in it. This was the second best place that i'd ever stayed at. The best was in Maui in a modern suite overlooking the beautiful ocean.

1.Large sized room that could easily held two double beds with room to spare.
2.Clean with no signs of mess leftover from other past guests.
Housekeeping kept the room tidy and even left chocolates on the bed each night.
They did however forget to return the washroom garbage bin on the last night.
3.The bed was super comfortable and I wished I had that kind of bed in my own house.
4.The amenities that it had were.....

1.Slippers
2.Mini Fridge
3.Portable bench in the washroom
4.Phone in the washroom
5.Cable TV with all the specialty channels
6.Bath robes
7.Ear plugs



My two complaints were the longer than usual wait times for the elevator and the line up at the concierge in the morning. I would recommend asking the concierge questions at off-peak hours (not right in the morning) because it's a big hotel with lots of guests.
These were just minor annoyances but nonetheless I wanted to give my full perspective.
I would highly recommend the New York Palace hotel and if you have any other questions feel
free to ask me.
Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50