The story of fingers

in #new3 years ago

At the "Second World Buddhist Forum" in Wuxi, Taiwan Master Hsing Yun told the story of the "five fingers" with a strong Jiangdu local accent.
  
   One day, five fingers were idle, arguing about who was the "boss".
  
   First of all, the thumb side, I am the biggest, because I use me to appreciate others, and I am ranked first, you all have to listen to me.
  
   The index finger was dissatisfied after hearing this: The people regard food as the heaven, and "food" is me; in addition, everyone uses the index finger to point to the direction, if you want you to go east, you want to go west, I am the most orthodox position.
  
  The middle finger said, I am in the middle, I am the largest, so I am the large.
  
   The ring finger smiled and said, nameless is famous. Everyone puts the precious diamond ring on me, how can you not listen to me?
  
   At last it was the pinky's turn, but it didn't speak. The other four fingers urged it to express its stance, and it had no choice but to say, I am the youngest, how can I be qualified to fight with you? However, when everyone puts their hands together to pray to the Buddha, I was the closest to the Buddha.
  
Master Hsing Yun paused for a moment, spreading out his right hand and said: "The five fingers have different lengths and each has its own role. If you put them together, it will be a fist, a circle (fate), and strength, which is shown in the Buddhist scriptures. "Lake", the five fingers stretched out are the palm of the hand, and it is also the "emptiness". The emptiness is the form, and the color is the emptiness. Why bother to care about the length of the five fingers?"
  
   The little story of Master Hsing Yun is hidden the great wisdom of life. In life, should we often "brake" our souls, retract our gazes, lower our heads, and stare at the gathering and dispersal of our five fingers for a while, savoring the happiness of "little thumbs"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42