The Last Lesson - A challenge fingers words: Eclipse and Cabin

in #new7 years ago

Source of the image:https://www.google.co.ve/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjWjqDghejYAhXDyVMKHcVbDLgQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fdiariote.mx%2F%3Fp%3D20407&psig=AOvVaw01_Tib181pQVjNyVNEssIN&ust=1516589137210946

The last lesson

The sea breeze touched my face as if it were a simple but divine caress. The sound of the sea hitting the metal of the ship made me feel calm, and that was the reason why I was still here. I could see from the bow the beginning of a beautiful lunar eclipse, which assured that this would be a special night. I did not know how true that was, but here I was, waiting in the dark of night thinking about what I had left behind; It was incredible that in just a few hours my identity had changed because of the imminent war and persecution that the Nazi army had promulgated, thanks to Adolf Hitler. Being in the cabin had only reminded me of the countless times I stayed in the basement of my hidden house, fearing every day that soldiers came to my house and dragged me to the street to shoot me as they had done with the rest of my friends and neighbors However, that had not happened. Yes, the camorate was suffocating for me, so, I had left that place.

Tears began to fall down my cheek, when images in my head flooded me with a terrible nostalgia. I saw my mother collapsing on the floor when she just opened the door of the house, and with an impressive speed my father took me to the basement, and although I gasped in a lot of questions, he just did not answer and just give me an order: Stay there, even if your life consists of being in this place. God ... I really wanted to listen to him, but when the hunger and thirst did not let me think, I decided to leave. My home was very messy and the dust of the place was imminent. My mother's body had been removed, but the blood stain was dry on the floor. I took the remains of food that had been left from the fridge, and as cold as it was, I decided to eat it. With much fear I went to the window and I could see how in the street there were mountains of bodies, one above the other, inert. And as if it were the crudest reality, I observed on the remains of those who were friends and neighbors the face of my father and on his forehead a huge hole from which flies came out ...

I do not know for sure what was the hatred that existed towards us, but it was the history of my race that lashed me with rawness. It seemed that we had come to be subdued and enslaved by numerous empires, from Egypt thousands of years ago until now by the Germans ... God ... it seemed incredible that we had to go through all this. However, the words of my mother were resonant in my mind: Our forgetfulness by God will always lead us to live in dependence or slavery, Tobias. It does not take weapons and power to take a person captive, sometimes, we can live in prison because of our own mistakes that do not lead to guilt and prevent us from moving forward ... I smiled at the memory of his words, only I was missing the cup of hot chocolate to keep on sermonizing. Truly as I miss her.

A tremor made me remember the place where I was, and it was the second tremor that made me fear greatly. Then, I saw it. A few meters from the ship was what is known as a submarine, of those who were the cusps of numerous German attacks and which had brought a lot of victories or ocean battles. I wanted to see what kind of submarine it was, something I had learned a few hours ago not only from the conversations of my marine companions, but from the images that hung over the walls in order to keep us all alert if we were to contemplate one. But how could we see it in the darkness of the night in full lunar eclipse? In fact, it seemed incredible to me that I could barely see the shining shadows of that metal at the contact of the fine rays of light provided by the ship's lighthouse. This was one that usually transported small goods, and although it did not represent a danger to the Germans like warships or as important as those of oil transport, it was sure that they were interested in taking part of what was being transported ... what they did not know is that the merchandise was about Jewish emigrants who aspired to a little peace and freedom.

I was scared of what was happening, and the cry of many people confirmed my suspicions. It was obvious that our destiny had been another. What a fool I was when I thought money could solve my life, and this time it was Dad's words that came: Trusting that money is the solution to our problems makes us so foolish, for the simple fact that we have not yet learned. And so it was ... I had not learned until now. I smiled Another idol fell into my life. I looked at the starry sky that seemed so innocent in the night, but ... I was a spectator of what was happening and it seemed that I tasted of that. I approached the tip of the bow, and being there, with a terrible fear, I pushed myself to throw myself into the sea remembering that there would be justice, it would not be now but there would be, and when that happens, I would not mind because I died confident that Yahweh will act by the promise given to his people. And even without hitting the sea, the last lesson came: The key to a full life, was the Faith. My mother was always right ...

This post is intended for the two words given by @Zuni: Eclipse and Camarote, words that I was invited to expose in this story in your post: Final Vigil Link: https://steemit.com/spanish/@ zuni / vigilia-final-cuento she also took her challenge thanks @blablajam if you want to join the challenge, do not hesitate to tell me that you accept the challenge and I will give you the two words for your writing. Thanks for reading ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66