Hey there everybody! My names nick and I'm....

in #new6 years ago

I'm just your regular crypto investor. In this post I'll be talking about my crypto journey and how it has effected me as a person.

I start my journey in the month of December during the year 2017.
december-month-christmas.png

None of my friends are in crypto nor is my family. I do a bit of research about it and find some coins I like. However, I wasn't sure about crypto at that time so I only threw in 240 bucks, 140 into ripple and 100 into ltc. You guys are probably thinking, why did I invest into ripple? Well the only thing I knew about it was the fact that ripple was going to be used by banks and that its already gaining a lot of popularity. I went into litecoin because I liked the way it looked(yea I know, I was dumb).
DQmb35kjAMeaQGt6CJ9M7MmRuVFUfVBZka2kfLkr4uqka3j.png

I mean tell me, does that not look like an amazing logo? Anyways back to my journey. I check at my profile in 2 weeks and I see that it has rose a ton. Turns out ripple went on to hit 1 dollar and litecoin hit 300 bucks. This is when I decided to throw in more money. (Something I forget to mention was that I am a high school student so money isn't too important to me right now). I threw in around half my paypal balance into hyped coins such as tron, ethereum, and stellar. These investments turned into more money and I was pretty excited as I've never gone up 2k usd in a week before. I show it to my parents and they seem pretty excited too which made me feel pretty proud of myself.

proud-parents.jpg

Anyways, some more time passes and its winter break for my school. During this break I do tons of research and invest into a coin called paccoin, when I invested it was 18 satoshis and I only liked it because it was cheap and had a good community. I put in a good 300 dollars which got me 10 million pac at that time. Lets skip to the beginning of January when bitcoin hits its all time high.

january.jpg

When bitcoin got around to hitting 19k usd, my portfolio hit 10k usd which made me the happiest person alive(or at least I felt like I was). Now lets remember that I was only one month into the crypto game so I had no idea of what would happen next. I did not put my money into fiat or usdt, I keep it in the alt coins that were for some reason bursting like crazy. This was the good part of my journey, now for the bad part. Brace yourself s!!

During the second half of January, everything starts falling. All my alts + bitcoin fall tons. I force myself to believe that this is just a small dip and that bitcoin will go up in no time. Boy was I wrong, my portfolio kept falling and my parents told me to take my money out but I didn't listen to them as greed took over me. My goal for this year was to get myself a Tesla Model 3. Even though I'm not old enough to drive yet, it would be nice knowing that once I turn 18, I'd be able to drive a nice car that I bought all by myself. A pic just to show you how nice it is -

social-m3-meta.jpg

Well, when I saw my portfolio drop 10%, then 25%, then 50%, then 70%, it kinda crushed my dreams of getting a tesla by the end of the year. However, I kept hope and just hodled onto my alts. I watched many youtube videos about the crash/dip and followed many twitter accounts that would do TA. After one week of doing this, I gained back my hope of getting this tesla at the end of the year and put in some more money. It is now 2/6/18 and I am writing this post from my desk at home with tons of homework waiting to be done. If you missed the lesson I learnt from my journey, here is the overall summary-

  1. Do not let greed take over you.
  2. Try not to invest into hyped coins.
  3. Don't put money you are not willing to lose into crypto.
  4. Never give up hope.
  5. DO NOT LET GREED TAKE OVER YOU (As Lance Armstrong once said "The riskiest thing you can do is get greedy.")

I hope you guys enjoyed reading about my journey of crypto from December to now. I am still rather new to this website so I believe that if you guys enjoyed you can resteem it or upvote it. If you want you can also follow me as I'll try to get more into this website.

Also don't be afraid to give me some criticism because I'd love to improve my way of blogging. Anything you say or do will help me. I hope everybody has an amazing year of crypto and lets hope we all hit our goals by the end of this year! All we have to do is BELIEVE!

Believe_small.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nicolas1015! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @nicolas1015! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59269.62
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41