Is your feelings hurt?

in #new6 years ago

Hello again,
Mystic here to give my 24 cents which in crypto currency is worth maybe 42 cents. Ha Ha Joke. So I was born in 1980 and growing up then is different than what I see today. We have way more technology and advancements and that is a good thing.
BUT......... Today's generation is very scary to me and I will tell you why.
Respect.
Respect or Re*spect (noun) a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements.
Today’s society suggest that this should be an automatic thing given to a person, place or thing without earning that title. I say title because respect is something that is earned. Mannerism, leadership, hard worker, and a risk taker for the better good is how I would classify someone earns my respect. Now it is not my intention to go around and disrespecting anyone, but I will not bow down to someone because they think it is an entitlement just because you have more money or a materialistic person.
Being Offended
Offended or of·fend·ed (adjective) resentful or annoyed, typically as a result of a perceived insult
This one is a big trend going around. Social media is very toxic for this. There is always news, celebrities or group that is offended by something. Back in the day being offended by something was to be deliberately called out by your race, religion, or background. This was handled my differently because of laws that were in place. I do not agree with the older laws and glad to be where we are today with certain laws, but I think groups had more to fight about than what is glorified today. This chapter strikes a cord with me because I think traditions and Morales are being demolished and becoming over sensitive about certain things.
EX: A person being offended by a chocolate commercial because he/she is in the process of managing healthy eating/ exercise wanting to sue the company and winning.
EX: A 9 year being expelled from school because the student had a bible and reading it during her lunch time.
EX: Allowing a flag burning ceremony to happen at a University and when a Retired Vet who was campus security retrieve the flag she was fired and banned from the University and all sporting events.
EX:

With the examples I shared are just a few. Today society has cut out a lot of religious symbols for the fear of Religions being offended.
We have also cut statues down due to the fear of the history they served.
Legislation that wants to cut anything that says “IN GOD WE TRUST’ for the fear of the violation of the First Amendment.

So in my closing statement I want to say. Instead of fixing what was lets fix what is and that is yourself. Fixing yourself by being more aware of people Race, Religion and Culture and be more open to being nice. The world is already toxic it doesn’t need you or me to contribute to it. Live, Laugh, Love is a simple expression but it is exactly what needs to happen. Life is too short to be miserable.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50