Monthly challenge: Stop quitting (Origami)

in #new8 years ago

After succesfully completing my first challenge I have a new one. When I was searching in a shop for materials for embroidery (my first challenge) I saw Origami-paper and thought: "YES, this will be my second challenge. I will fail with 99% certainty!"



Origami is beautifull, if done correctly. But it requires many skills, one of them is patience. And I don't have a lot of patience.
At the start of this year I went to Thailand, Myanmar and Lao for a backpacking-trip. Before that trip I was never patient. But in Southeast-Asia you will learn to be patient, because everybody has time...lots of it. You will learn not to rush and take your time. But back at home, you will lose that patience again because of the consumption/working society. So I am still more relaxed than before my holiday but origami is a real test.

Another thing you need to have is handicraft. I am not used to working with my hands, except using the computer. In Dutch we say: "two left hands". Since I'm lefthanded I am very unskilled....

I was sure I would get very frustrated doing Origami, it's only the fifth of the month and I can tell you: it's pissing me off allready! But I will write about that in my next post, including my "progress" by pictures.

Please post your suggestions for a new challenge and maybe I will pick it up!
Any advice is welcome!

Dave



Extra information about Origami (source)
Origami (from ori meaning "folding", and kami meaning "paper" (kami changes to gami due to rendaku)) is the art of paper folding, which is often associated with Japanese culture. In  modern usage, the word "origami" is used as an inclusive term for all  folding practices, regardless of their culture of origin. The goal is to  transform a flat sheet square of paper into a finished sculpture  through folding and sculpting techniques.

Benefits of origami (source)
* Visual Motor
* Attention Skills
* Concentration
* Measurement
* Geometry
* Creativity
* Problem Solving 

Finished challenges
Embroidery

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41