HELP PLEASE- TRYING TO UNDERSTAND !!!!

in #new8 years ago

Can someone please explain to me why my $ against a post keeps going up and down??

This afternoon it was at $54 then it went to $48.27 then up again and now its down to $44.22

I am new to this and not totally up to speed on it all- any help, advice would be appreciated.

THANK YOU

#Steemit

#money

#dollars

Sort:  

Voting is based on how much a user votes and steem power. If you vote on one post each month you will have a huge amount of weight in relation to your steem power. So if one of the users that votes for you have lots of steem power, you will see a big number such as $500 - $50. Now if after that they go and vote on other posts they will continue draining the past votes you had made within a close time frame (I believe around 24 hours). So if a whale logs in and sees your post first and up votes it you may get $400. Now if he continued rating content you will see it start going down. Until you are paid for your content the $$$ doesn't mean anything under your posts. Hope this helps. If you have any questions feel free to comment on this post and I will try to answer your questions.

@ungratefulchump - which i bet your not really!
Thankyou for answering my query - appreciated - small clarification ( bit thick sometimes...)

"Now if after that they go and vote on other posts they will continue draining the past votes you had made within a close time frame"
past votes??? does this mean what i have voted on
sorry to ask just trying to get a better understanding - not doing it all for the money, just enjoy reading other peoples posts/opinions/blogs etc as Facebook became soooooo boring 2+years ago and have been waiting for a more interesting concept to come along = STEEMIT

No need to apologize I love to tell people what I have learned and hope to continue doing so. So when I mean past votes I mean votes within a limited period of time. I cannot tell you the exact number, but essentially the more you vote the more influence you take away from the votes you made before like within ~24 hours before. This keeps the big guys from voting on every post in the world and giving everyone $500, if they tried to do this their vote would probably mean less than you or me. It also keeps voting from being permanent. If I vote and want to take it back I could, now I don't know if this is good for the system, but it will also avoid hundreds of transactions every time a big post comes along. I think it would be better for our system if every $.00001 didn't justify a transaction and instead give all the people a composite payout of $.01 when the activity of the article is stagnating. Thanks for posting and being interesting in this system. Once again, more questions, please comment. Cheers!

being thick again! if i read lots of post and vote on them, essentially I am doing myself a disfavour by diluting my previous votes, thus making my $ go down? and the 'big guy' who may have voted on my post originally giving it a boost, this gets diluted too?

It isn't making your money go down, it is making the power you are telling the system to give your up votes less power. Which will mean the content you voted on will no be rewarded as much as you originally saw appear when you upvoted. I believe you got the idea from what you said. It is a lot easier to see with whales because every vote you can see larger amounts of money vs you or me voting. If I vote on a dozen more posts I don't think the several posts I already voted on will have the $.01 taken away. But If I had a $300 increase on any post I upvoted then you can bet each vote might take it down by $2,3,4,10. Once again I don't know the exact formula or numbers but I understand the concept. Does this help? Cheers!

i do also want to understand why? Another post is asking the same too. https://steemit.com/steemit/@ltndd1/why-is-the-money-on-my-posts-dropping-drastically

I know its just weird ! no answer yet though, hopefully someone from Steemit will be able to explain????

Hi there. Same issue here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72