Say Bye-Bye

in #new7 years ago

Well I finished the headboard that I was asked to make and set up a delivery time for this morning.

One last look before it goes bye-bye

20170725_075536.jpg
Here you can see better how I distressed it. Simply by using gray primer first then spraying the white lightly over some areas and heavier on others then sanding down a few spots. Now it looks old and used. Also I chose Cottage white as the color as it has a yellowish tint to mimic aged paint. Then sprayed three coats of high gloss water based polyurethane on it yo protect the paint.

20170725_075548.jpg
I even mill out my own molding. Here I chose to use red oak so the grains stand out to show it is real wood and not MDF (medium density fiberboard or in other words COMPRESSED CARDBOARD ).

20170725_075600.jpg
Here is a better look at the crown molding.

Thank you for taking another look into this dog's world.

Sort:  

I like the distressed edging. I'm pretty sure if I was building this I would cheap out on the wood and would feel guilty painting over red oak, but the visible grain is worth it. Not sure if it's appropriate to ask, but what does something like this cost?

The crown molding is oak the rest is poplar. The total cost that I am charging is $287.33 including tax.

Oh! It is gorgeous!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Guarddog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This is cool! How did you get into this sort of thing? Have you ever thought of participating in one of those HGTV competitions? I bet you would do well

Actually I owe it all to my grandma who is now resting in heaven. Over 20 yrs ago she recognized the raw talent within me and encouraged me to pursue it. I found I had a love and passion for the art. Been self employed since doing what I love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92