Listen!

in #new6 years ago

untitled.png

I personally am a soft-spoken person and when I'm around many out-going people I'm quiet. Mostly because if I say something it's unheard. Because of this I have been labelled as an "introvert".
I have corrected people on a few occasions saying that people can't be classified as simply an "introvert" if they're quiet and an "extrovert" if they're loud. In fact before I finished high school I went for a psychometric assessment.

FYI: Psychometric tests are designed to measure candidates' suitability for a role based on the required personality characteristics and aptitude (or cognitive abilities). They identify the extent to which candidates' personality and cognitive abilities match those required to perform the role.

I was told that I'm an "extrovert". I was shocked and told them that I am a quiet person. The assessor then told me that extroverts are people who enjoy other people's company, introverts prefer to work by themselves.
And this is pretty true of me. I do enjoy people's company, but more specifically the company of one person or a small group of people, where I won't be outspoken.

'Loud mouths' should really take other people into consideration before jumping into conclusions about who they are. For example, a talkative friend of mine will chat to people of different races and almost immediately assume they're shy. I've had to remind her that English is not their first language and they might be struggling to communicate - give them a chance before judging them as "shy".

Listening to others is a big thing most people miss. They'll say something and before the other person has finished their response, the previous person is already thinking about the next thing they are going to say, even if it moves away from they discussed topic.

“Hear” is found 347 times in the Bible,

In Mark 4:9 the Lord warned, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear” and again in verse 23 He said “if anyone has ears to hear, let him hear.” (NIV)

​We need to start using these ears of ours to listen to others, even if they are quiet people, they might provide us with insightful information.

"The words of the wise heard in quiet are better than the shouting of a ruler among fools." Ecclesiastes 9:17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59