Why Bible Prophecy Matters! The New Heaven & New Earth our Ultimate Home. Part One

in #new6 years ago

My wife and I had a very challenging week with a serious issue with one of our daughters and we had to do an emergency trip to Calgary and this is the reason for the delay in my blog this week. By God’s grace things have settled down, but it was very emotionally exhausting. This week I will shorten the blog.

My whole life I have struggled being far too attached to this earth, to the people I love, animals, music, career, wealth, the oceans, rivers and lakes, grand mountains, glorious valleys, beautiful plants and trees. Sometimes I have focused on my fitness or appearance way too much or enjoyed food or wine in excess. I hope you can relate as these are common struggles we all face as Christians and with hundreds of other things, places or distractions that grab our attention.

I am not saying that any of these things are wrong unless they become idols or done in excesses in our lives. In fact, I believe our loving Father in Heaven delights in our joys, interests and wants us to enjoy the many good things that He has created in abundance for our pleasure. But, I need to remind myself and you that all of these amazing and good things of this life all have an expiry date, and ultimately this current world as we know it will not our home.

I believe I may have mentioned this experience possibly in one of my earlier blogs while I was in Bible College over 30 years ago. The professor (I can see him, but I cannot remember his name) said something like this and I have never forgot it, “When Adam and Eve first sinned and the fall resulted, I do not believe most people fully grasp the extent or the depth of the consequence of our first parents actions.”

Everything changed after the fall! Our relationship with God was severed, a grand spiritual war was initiated, the god-man syndrome was born, humanity has never been able to get along well for too long due to our selfishness and hubris. Animals, birds, sea life, reptiles and insects all became fearful and worse became either a predator or prey. Disease broke out in a thousand shades, curses were unleashed and even plant species on the planet became far less productive. Man has often exploited the earth instead of stewarding it with care. I have barely scratched the surface on this enormous topic.

The Apostle Paul said it well in Romans 8:18-23, and he starts out with mentioning suffering (that too was the result of the fall) of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. Like Paul, we need a clear vision, dream or revelation in our hearts and minds of what is to come. Truly, all of creations mourns, groans and has suffered due to the fall. At the full redemption of the sons and daughters of God then this broken planet and universe will be healed.

The first mention of a new heaven and new earth in the Bible is found in Isaiah 65:17-25. Vs. 17, “For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth, for the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind”. I find this consistent with Pauls revelation of heavens (plural) as he stated in 2 Corinthians 12 that he was caught up into the third heaven…implying there are two more. The first being the earths atmosphere, the second outer space/universe and third God’s glorious throne and home. Isaiah states, “the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind”. So glorious shall be the new heavens and earth, that what we experience now will not even compare and it will fade from our memories.

Now I have stated in the past, that context is everything when you are trying to get clear understanding of a passage with the help of the Holy Spirit. Also, it is important to remember that some prophetic passage have a twofold interpretation. Meaning, the current revelation is a partial or temporary fulfillment while the greater or fullness is yet to come. I believe this is the case with this Isaiah passage (65:17-25) since it clearly states this new heavens and earth are not in their full perfected state and man shall die during this period. I believe this refers to the millennium kingdom where the redeemed of the Lord shall rule and reign with Jesus and those born during this period are not fully perfected yet. We are who have been born again are perfected at Christ appearing before the 1000-year reign. The millennium kingdom will be a vast upgrade from our current fallen world; however, the fullness is yet to come.

Next week Lord willing we will transition to further insights found in the NT on the new heavens and earth that await all of us who put our hope and trust in Jesus. Please pray for our daughter that she would have renewed hope and direction in her life.

From a friend, Bill W…if you have found these studies insightful and encouraging pass them on to a friend! Maranatha…Our Lord, come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40