Beware of Selling On eBay!!

in #new6 years ago

In this video I am going to share with you a great tip when selling anything on eBay. This information is really handy for those who are planning on selling high ticket items such as electronics or jewelry. One of the main things to keep an eye out for as a seller on eBay is scammers. Scammers has aways been lurking around eBay but over the past few years the number of scammers has increased but you do not have to be a victim.

What You Should Never Do On eBay:

One thing that scammers try to do is get buyers or sellers off of the eBay platform. No, I'm not talking about getting you to meet in person. I'm talking about them trying to get you to engage in emailing off of eBay. In this video I talk about how this happened to me recently when I was trying to sell a pretty high ticket item. I was running an auction and less than 12 hours of being listed I received an email from eBay letting me know that my items were sold and my listed “Buy it now” price. Of course I was excited until...

Shortly after getting that email from eBay the buyer of the items sent me a message through eBay. They stated how they were excited to purchase my item and couldn't wait to receive it, Then they asked me to send and invoice to an email address that they listed in the message. Now I've been doing business online for years so I instantly thought that was strange. Why could I need to send an invoice to a strange address outside of eBay? The answer to this question is simple, you shouldn't.

Knowing that I would not be emailing them outside of eBay I kind of wanted to see how far they would go. I messaged them back asking them to just pay through eBay. They messaged me back almost ignoring my message asking me to send an invoice to a strange email. After about the third message from them I just ignored the scam buyer and sure enough a few days later I got an email from eBay letting me know that the buyer was not a real one and that they hacked someones account.

I am not a regular seller on eBay anymore but eBay really needs to do something about theses scammers because every time a scammer “buys” your item they stop your auction leaving real buyers interested in what you are selling thinking that they've missed out.

Bottom line is, eBay is still a cool place to buy and sell things but you definitely should be aware of scammers. Never send messages outside of the eBay site. There is no need to.

Get Paid For Your Expert Advice!! http:/ThePassiveIncomeWay.com

Sort:  

Very good point. Been sick of eBay as of lately. Too many people buying stuff and not paying for it. And it's suck in limbo until the timeline for unpaid item kicks in. Also you cannot file an unpaid item case from the app, only option they give you is cancel the item!! One time I got charged fees for an unpaid item because I was in hurricane Irma and could not file the claim due to no internet for almost 2 weeks. Told eBay about this and they keep telling me they would refund and they never did. Wish there were better options than eBay.

There are other places similar to them just not as popular. eBay needs to make some changes!!

Yea I think that's what I need to do. Will definitely check some of them out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60