Networking Story

in #new6 years ago (edited)

Three Doors liberty network.jpg

Had a great opportunity yesterday to do a little networking, ended up being a great experience for someone who historically is somewhat aloof, introverted and not overtly engaging to people that I don't know. But as a, seemingly obvious, prerequisite for entrepreneurship, I am plowing forward, full steem ahead. 😉

SITREP

A new guy at work Sunday night, Josh quickly caught on to the various tasks we are employed to perform. I went over and introduced myself but gave him his space to learn and get to know some of the other guys (again, not the most friendly, outgoing person) and went about my own work.

After work @nateonsteemit and I occasionally will hang out in the parking lot to discuss various topics, ranging from politics (or disdain for them, rather) to business ideas to simply how each other's families are doing.

Yesterday, however, while engaging in some business talk, I looked over to the truck parked next to me and noticed the paint job was of the quite expensive variety: what amounts to spray on bed liner mixed with paint. A niche and currently overpriced industry in our area. $$🤔$$ Noticing as well, the rear wheel missing the hubcap and the tires of the off-suited variety, clashing with his nice paint job, much to the amusement of Nate and myself.

Then It Got Interesting..

Wouldn't you know it, when the owner of the truck finally walked up it was none other than my new co-worker, Josh. We playfully bantered about his odd arrangement at which point he described the incidents that led to the current state of his vehicle. Part of which was that he had done the paint job himself.

If you'll remember, one of my hobbies and, coincidentally, part of my employment on and off for the past several years has been in pneumatic or spray-on painting. Namely, automotive or in my employer's case, semi trucks. Naturally I was intrigued and as we talked, he explained to us that this job that we shared was a stepping stone to him finding his place among the market as a business owner.

As we talked more, (late into the afternoon, which is usually time for sleep) he went through various ideas that he had been working on and even probed about our own interests in entrepreneurship, which we were happy to tell him about. It was a great opportunity for us to explore some ideas and schedule another meeting.

Now The Hanger

We will be delving into these possibilities further and will be sure to keep our #steemit friends in the loop. If you want to see what comes of it, we'll see you back here shortly. Thanks for reading and engaging, stay tuned!

#carryon or become #carrion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94