About My Wonderful Life

in #new6 years ago (edited)

15747486_1183283091754612_2254619090953354330_n.jpg

Hi avid steemians! I hope you all are doing well. I am Gideon James Isiderio, 21 years old and I live from Guimaras , Philippines where delicious mangoes are made.If you have some time , try to visit our wonderful place in Guimaras! I am an academic scholar in the Philippines, taking up Bachelor of Science in Marine Engineering under the Norwegian Shipowners Association Program. I already did have my 1 year experience onboard an international sea going vessel. A car ship or a car carrier to be exact. I did have a hard time at first as what they say "There is always a first time for everything". The hardest part onboard is your first month. To have no idea what to do and what is happening. I did have my trainings and theoretical knowledge but on the face of real thing, what I learned from school did not have much of an effect. It really is true that experience is the best teacher. I did my best, I never tried to give up even though I faced hardships that normal people can't endure. The hardest thing is to be far from my family, coupled with stress and sleepless nights due to workloads.

Experience onboard is fun but also frightening. Like passing the infamous gulf of aden where somalian pirates are lurking while we are having a large leak on our exhaust gas economizer (a machinery used to produce steam) and we cannot stop the engine. For a first time, it felt unreal and frightening at the same time. I also experience running aground but thankfully we did not experience any major break down in the ships hull.

Seafaring was never been an easy job but it is my passion. Even at the hard times I tried to calm myself and enjoyed those little things.

I visited many countries, stepped on 5 out of 7 continents but it is still more fun in the Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50