Elapsing Year

in #new7 years ago (edited)


Elapsing Year


In the middle of winter, under an overcast sky,

One more year is about to pass me by.


She had real intelligence, brightness of mind,

It was not her beauty that charmed me,

Not her radiant smile and sparkling eyes that captured my imagination,

She had many attractive qualities, conspicuous for others,

But it was her deep and knowing eyes that enchanted and scared me.


Wish to have her was a fantasy too far,

Her spirit was free, belonging to no one,

Even to have her as a friend was rather bizarre.


In the middle of winter, under an overcast sky,

She walked off forever, without saying goodbye.


The trees began to tremble, the shadows lengthened,

The moon rose, the mosquitoes buzzed everywhere,

The sounds of running engines; people talking gave a cold comfort of time passing,

Not a whiff of her fragrance possessed the open wintry air,

Her image has become blurred in my recollection,

She has drifted away, elusive, like a ghost that never existed.


It's starting to drizzle now, steadily time marching on,

The gloom and the doom still etch in the sky,

With a wail clock is striking midnight,

The year is gone, and she is gone too!

Both would never come back again in my life,

But their memories would haunt me, and make me wonder, why?


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70