Lavender Skin

in #new7 years ago (edited)

Lavender.jpg

I wish we were born with Lavender Skin

Then there would be no explaining to our family and friends

We wouldn't waste our time on those people who aren't our kind

We wouldn't have the shame that some of us do now

There would be no explanating on who, what, when or how

There would be no blame on them and where did they go wrong

This is something I have thought about far to long

If we were born with Lavender skin

We would have the same rights as our straight friends

We could be married, have children free from their judgment of our sins

If we only had Lavender Skin

We could walk hand and hand anywhere we choose

We wouldn't have to hide and pretend

Things could be so much better

If we only had Lavender Skin

Maybe the girls would look like girls and the men like men

I know there would be more acceptance

If we only had Lavender Skin

Others would not have have their lives ruined by hatred and bigotry

Maybe we wouldn't have lost as many of our friends and family

Why oh why ; were we not born with Lavender Skin

Resteem logo 1.jpg

bitcoin.gif

Sort:  

This is striking and quite affecting... I love lavender (but I know what you mean by it, here). I wish you peace, freedom, acceptance and love.

Small typo, by the way: "hind" should be "hide", I think?

thank you very much I was worried about posting it
I was thinking maybe too strong of a voice for the steemit groups and that it was not good enough. I have read a few other writers and they make me feel small. so it means a lot to hear reactions to what I write. thank you from the bottom of my heart. it really does matter to get feed back. May I follow your post as well and commit on them ? I was told I was suppose to ask first. oh yes thank you I will fix that typo (s) I found two more thanks for making me take a harder look at it .

very nice, but no one should worry about what others think! do what makes you happy, what others think is not important.

that is nice in theory but in the very uncertain times at least here in the U.S. Trump has brought out such hate and such meanness. It is not as safe as we once believed. but thank you. People here now feel empowered to slam you, or get people fired because you do not think like, or even look like what they believe you must be to be a true American. He has brought out the worst in us all.

Resteemed. Very impresive poetry

nice writing skill

Thank you I have not written in a while maybe I will try another poem today.

thank it means a lot
to hear that from you all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65633.94
ETH 2670.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90