If I was new to Steem

in #new6 years ago

Without going much into how things used to be in the past, similar to crypto prices this platform has kept on changing constantly at a very fast pace, I wanted to take the time to write down how I would do things today if I was a new user knowing what I know as a curator today.

Not just as a curator, many of you may already be aware that I spend a lot of my time on Steem and try and be everywhere a bit and have a general sense of what is going on everywhere although much like when I attempted to follow the altcoin world which became impossible by the sheer amount of them existing, I find myself facing the same struggle here on Steem. There is too much going on and fast, people like to look at prices and judge how a project is doing based on them but similar to most coins they are all unique and the general crypto market is not going to care if you cure cancer, it still won't instantly reflect on the price.

With this post I want to write down what I would do as a new user who is looking to spend a lot of time on the platform. I am aware that I may not be aware of all projects on Steem but I am hoping the comment section will help fill this post up even more and that maybe it could be useful to newcomers stumbling upon it.

IMG_20170527_164413.jpg

First off, let's assume I'm a user that's already familiar with crypto and interested in investing and becoming active in Steem, this is what I'd do.

As someone already familiar with Crypto I would think about things like: token supply, daily reward pool, inflation, governance, richlist and what those users do, what Steemit is + what it does and what it holds, discussions on other platforms about the currency, what it is trying to solve, how it has done so far and then I'd start looking at what is going on on the platform.

Then as a user I think I would take a look at trending, then look at authors who get rewards without bid bots, then authors who get rewards without votetrading, then realize it doesn't really matter what I post about as the rewards aren't that important and that there is so much else going on except of blogging, commenting and curating on this platform. I'd probably invest in some Steem considering the bear market we are in and either curate with it or delegate it for ROI.

As a user only looking to invest his time, I suggest they would first start by reading some of the FAQ or the Welcome page. I realize it is quite a lot and I'm sure many will instead just give it a go and see how it goes without reading much, but I hope they will at least consider checking out the FAQ page when they get into words they don't understand or Steemians talking about things that makes no sense to them.

Then I would suggest they start looking around, realize there are other interfaces of the Steem blockchain and get involved with the communities. I'd suggest he'd check the feeds of authors he has followed which could easy lead him to more authors that share the same interests as him, but I realize this is a difficult thing for a newcomer to find out, heck a lot of people barely know nowadays that you can browse other's feeds. I'd tell him to look into dapps on steemdapps.com and see if there is anything in existence that the user would be interested in. If yes, then get into their discords and start connecting with others.

I'd also suggest they'd give it a try by posting whatever they would post on other social media platforms, sooner or later they would get picked up by a curation group for original content. If they aren't much of writers and instead like to engage with comments instead, that would be my next go to suggestion. Comment on your favorite authors posts, most of them will respond to you and maybe even give you your first (valuable) upvote. Some of them may even check out your account just because of your comment and give you a follow and future votes.

Curate users, but not users that get a ton of rewards already. A vote combined with a comment can be worth a lot more than what the vote gives the author, Steem is all about connecting with others. I realize we are in this weird phase right now where we aren't so sure anymore if we just focus our voting on content but move it over to funding or investing and all kinds of things, but there will always be some users just curating content for curation's sake.

Soon you will realize how doors are opening up in front of you, people and communities welcoming you and you will start to see the potential this blockchain brings not just for investors, developers but also for its users. There are not many ecosystems like this one and the mere fact that we survived without one of the main revenue generators in existence for this long portrays how powerful blockchain is and that it will stay alive for a long time. Another cool thing is having something you know will never stop existing and always be your own to hold, and that is your Steem account.

When I first started writing this post I figured it would be a lot shorter but I tend to sidetrack quite a bit as I'm writing, maybe I can instead end it here and engage with you all in the comment section instead and leave you with this question:

What would you suggest a new user on Steem to do which got you started and wanting to stay on the platform?

Sort:  

I always suggest that the first thing users do is read through the Steemit welcome page. There are a ton of things that you need to know about Steem when you're new and many of us might have forgot.

It's not necessarily hard, if you know about copyright, but there are quite a few things to know. You have to know that you can't just post random pictures. There are only a few cases where you can use random pictures. Like when doing a movie review, posting pictures from it is fair use.

There are also things you need to learn, like about powering up, what it is, and how to do it, as well as how to do market trades to convert SBD to Steem. It took me a surprising amount of time to get used to the Steemit market because it doesn't really look like the majority of trading markets. I still can't really figure out how to trade from a volume chart. Dumb that they don't even have a standard candlestick chart as an option.

I also suggest that they check out witnesses and people that do various projects on Steem. You should keep up on all the various projects on here, as well as Steem and Steemit. The creators of projects might also create some new sweet project, and leaving good comments on major posts can make you more than you might earn as a new user on a post.

You have to know that you can't just post random pictures.

Unless you're using @dlike, but they encourage sourcing. :)

Dumb that they don't even have a standard candlestick chart as an option.

I agree 100%, I hope they give it a nice rework before SMT's are launched. People will want decentralized exchanges soon enough.

About the last part, I agree, this is a great site made by @noisy if I'm not mistaken: https://steemprojects.com/

Like most things in crypto, Steemit has a bad rep. Go to google and search steemit and scam and you will see a lot of crap out there. 'Its a ponzi', 'you need to buy in to get up the ranks', 'dont expect to make and money'.

Anyone who joins Steemit wants money.. in the first instance. It is the draw and I think thats why many 3rd world people join. For them, a few cents is something but for the western people it's peanuts and they can earn more at McDonalds.

It's not a ponzi (I was lured into BitConnect so I know for sure what one of those it), you do need to invest for anyone to take you seriously (dont you have to invest in the stock market to see a return too?).

The welcome to new users sucks to be honest. You have to wait weeks for an account (Wasnt HF20 supposed to make it instant?). Yes its instant if you pay, and I can dish out accounts with 0 SP, but they cant do anything.

As other Steemians should it be up to us to 'bribe' people to stay by creating a free account (not a big deal) and delegating some SP to them (should'nt be the case).

As much as I would love the masses to join, things need to change. The message about Trending as you say.. needs to go. The massive amounts of money is what the new user sees, and when it doesnt happen they leave.

@curie helps a lot, they do target the new people if they do anything os substance, but I wish there was more than one @curie.

I would suggest them to really think about what would they like to put out there, not only what will attract most readers, but this is me type of content. Do what they love instead of do what crowds would want to see.

I would also suggest not looking at numbers and engaging in a thoughtful way with readers and other authors.

Honestly a comment goes alot further than one would realize! I've had bad days and very little votes on posts then someone comes along that honestly loves what i've shared and it make all the time and effort worth it!

A vote combined with a comment can be worth a lot more than what the vote gives the author, Steem is all about connecting with others.

This. You're not so bad as far as this, but so many think their vote makes them special be it 10 cents or 10 dollars. This is the biggest issue with Steem for me. What I've seen is people only make an effort when they think there is something in it for them. So when accounts like you say jump, they jump. When accounts like you write, "recommend me something to keep me entertained", they indulge you. This is a bad look for Steem. I would think any hard working self respecting human would look poorly upon this sycophantic behavior.

People won't admit it, but too many people think they can use their vote as a form of subtle manipulation, it's disgusting. In the long run, only the people who care about the money will remain.

In the long run, only the people who care about the money will remain.

I really don't agree with this point, you should at this point be aware of the other advantages of Steem than just a fairer reward for your contributions.

I'm not sure what I should be aware of. I only come online to be inspired by new ways to approach things. To be motivated to make an effort creatively. So on this level I have been rewarded and remain grateful. But it gets harder to find new quality connections, and I'm really about meeting new people. The steem world feels small and ever shrinking. That's why you will hear me complaining about the lack of diversity. It's just the same uninteresting voices and same opinions. It's beginning to feel cultish, and I imagine people sitting in circles singing Kumbaya while chanting 'buy steemmonsters, buy steemmonsters'. XD

It's always about money here.

I would think any hard working self respecting human would look poorly upon this sycophantic behavior.

Then they can express themselves that way, find people who agree with them and they can share their rewards with eachother and others like them. :) I try not to reward people who jump in comment sections inserting bland comment just for a vote and most of my followers know that and over the years it has improved nicely by just ignoring the spammers. Some even flag them and sometimes I do too when its blatant, but either way works. Not everyone is here just for the money, they can use the other advantages blockchain brings instead. At least they won't feel like someone is using them.

Then they can express themselves that way, find people who agree with them and they can share their rewards with eachother and others like them.

You often talk of adoption of steem, but really what you are saying is find yourself the right circle to jerk on. So you should add that to your post "find people who agree with them and they can share their rewards with eachother and others like them."

This is not about people agreeing, but about people treating others as people and not 'followers' or potential followers. A vote is meaningless to me when it comes with strings attached, usually the voter hoping I will visit and comment and be a loyal audience. It's about people conducting themselves in a way that doesn't put people like you on pedestals. You're a nice person, but you aren't that interesting. I think I get tired of the worship and hope this blockchain attracts more diverse voices. I do wonder if this 'sycophantic' behavior prevents this and stops other leader types from wanting to invest.

But I'll best retreat from your horde of 'followers', god forbid I am counted as one of them! XD Have a nice day acidyo, I've over stayed my welcome. lol

Not really sure where you're coming from, I do remember some chats we've had in the past, I hope you didn't think the random delegation your way back then had any strings attached to it as it didn't. I've given delegation to many in the past and I upvote many too, I don't exclude them because they may say something controversial or tell me my content or me isn't that interesting. That's your opinion and it's fine, I believe we've passed the point of quality being the important thing on this platform. If people don't like the way things work or don't want to wait to find out what the end result entails then they are free to voice their opinions as many have.

I do understand your string attached theory that the commenters would want to come back, but that's not necessarily for the rewards either, attention may be more important to some people and Steem shows you a way of how you can fairly buy or earn your way to more attention. :)

Gosh, I should be very clear, that delegation was more a lovely surprise and a novelty. Warmly appreciated for giving me that delegation experience.

I always try to give back whenever I can, but people who come pre-strung aren't welcomed. That's definitely not you.

I only get grumpy with you when you:

  1. Call people'followers'. Yes, it's unreasonable but I get triggered by that word. It's hard work to take interest in others, so I'd rather not be referred to as a follower for my efforts. I will eventually just unfollow on principle.

  2. Do the 'recommend me something'. I always imagine the requestor lying on a chaise expecting to be fed grapes and fanned with palm leaves. Like, go do what us poor peasants do and find your own recommendations/entertainment! Go look at your feed! To be fair you are nowhere as obnoxious as some in doing this.

  3. Remind others that they will be rewarded for posting during shit times. I simply don't judge people's dedication that way. When times are quiet, go spend it with the family and RL. That's to be admired, getting off the net and having a real life.

I'm not expressing the above to be adversary, I'm just disagreeable. But besides point 1-3, I find you a nice guy with a heavy investment in steem. Which is why I check in on your blog every so often to see where your head's at.

I could write a thesis on how much I despise the attention seekers of steem, but I know you don't like to read my wall of texts, so I will stop here. :P

But I'll best retreat from your horde of 'followers', god forbid I am counted as one of them! XD

That's sad to hear, some of my followers are some amazing people. :)

Sorry, not a follower, so I'll just have to be less than amazing. I am a silent supporter though. I never forget a good deed and you have been good to me. So if people ever think you suck, gang up on you, and try to fork your stake out of existence, I will spam them with walls of text filled with insults. That's the best I can do I'm afraid. So sleep tight with that knowledge.

Great points to help a new user. I often go around curating new users to guide them to interesting posts and sites that help around with most of the items you mention! I also think that a good introduction post has a lot of value as it could help find the communities you can identify with to actively engage with!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I absolutely agree with that and I have to apologize I forgot to contact you on Discord that one time I asked for your username there, if you'd be so kind to give it to me again I would appreciate the time saved having to look for it in my replies. :D

No problem! @newageinv#3174

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just wish less was on discord, telegram or otherwise, and more on steem. I do see the value of chat apps, I love them more than most, but the point is to interact on the blockchain, not have those conversations on another system. Just my 2 cents there.

I do value your posts, and definitely look up to you as a better steemian then myself, who saw steepshot and zappl and started going more short instead of more eloquently verbose prose. Damn Twitter mindset. I do think people need to engage their minds and THINK about what something reads, instead of just having everything spelt out in a peculiar way that hyperfocuses on a specific outcome. Everyone is a winner of they put in an honest effort, even if that honest effort is much less then someone who's overly verbose or skilled in the craft of creativity on media (sound / imagery).

Shrugs I love this platform and hope to see the fruits of everyone's labor pay off longterm. Yeah, there is a long way to go (I idealize a world where common people can run a witness or node with some minimal specs, even if just for their self posts and the communities they follow posts instead of the whole blockchain), but it's going to be an amazing adventure either way!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish I had the time to post more, I would love to share more ideas of future dapps that I could see working well on Steem but I've been really busy finding people wanting to do dev work pro bono for a nonprofit distribution bot I started here. Hopefully have the time to post more actively soon and more thoughtout posts than just random freewrites now and then.

and yeah I agree, there's a long way to go but it can get short fast, it all depends on adoption. We have the odds in our favor as being a censorship free blockchain for text and technology is being developed for HD video p2p storage too but it's not there yet. Considering other platforms are now pushing away content creators through demonetization and bans, instantly nullifying their income, I believe over time they will realize that no such thing can happen on our blockchain. If a dapp bans you from using it, you still have your SP and your followers and move onto a competitor with different rules. :)

I'm not entirely convinced that banking on "demonized users jumping ship" is the larger audience we should be aiming for... Seems like setting the bar low to pull in deviants (don't worry, I'm pro-nearly anything), but they aren't exactly gonna bring $$$... They are grasping for it. I feel a larger audience that would benefit steem more is the wellness and Buddhist crews.. generally they live more frugal and bare essentials (and don't get me started on the minimalist movement), in addition to the homestead group that's already moved in full force. And us stoners need to stick together, so naturally the 420/canna-crews I enjoy, the meme's tho... Still remind me of forwarded emails or comic strip cutouts my grandma used to spam me with... But I'll take the painful nostalgia for a few lulz.. I love the steem community as a whole.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha holy shit you described my own experience with a meme contest way back, not to sound harsh but damn people didn't know how to meme and the majority was just weird unrelated pictures with steem related text which wasn't even a requirement to be about steem.

But yeah, this is a place for everyone and anyone, the cost to enter for now is fairly low and people are giving away accounts for free. Remember those people many years ago who got a whole Bitcoin for registering on a website? :D

I will be applying your advice. I'm new to steemit :)

I think were loosing the phases where people are enthused to write content because they enjoy it or it brings fulfilment of knowing someone else there wants to consume them, if people keep coming in with the big money, well definitely do well but we will forever lose that phase I mentioned earlier. Points noted though, thank you so much.

Blogging doesn't necessarily have to die, 10 daily votes don't need to be 10 daily votes in the future if the rest of the ecosystem is taking so much more from the reward pool than blogging is, we won't have the problem of having too few votes to give out daily as the prices will be so much higher it would be stupid to reward some users too high rewards for their efforts from the past. If that makes any sense. :D

How much from the reward pool blogging will take may be much lower in % but higher in $ is what I was trying to say.

Hey acid. Firstly I have been on here for 10 months and had no idea you could look at someones feed besides yours. Where and how do you do you this?
If I was starting all over again which is not a pleasant thought mind you I would concentrate on followers by engaging as much as possible. This is the key part of your growth that should happen every day and the sooner you start the better. I wouldn't even worry about posting for the first few months and just do the basics. Learn as much as possible picking up all the tricks so when you are ready to post they aren't all zero reward posts.

Thanks @ mattclarke. This makes perfect sense as this is the one site I haven't used yet.

You can do it on steemit too.
I just like to send people to steempeak whenever possible.
Just replace 'peak' with 'it'.

Lol. Will look on Steempeak and see what I have been missing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80