You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if today was the day you realised that you have lost your Master-Passwords & Keys for your STEEM-ACCOUNT?

in #new-users7 years ago

You can also hold in Desktop & Phone App Wallets i.e Jaxx or Exodus
Do you hold, or do you exchange and trade a lot?
Or purchase a Hardware Wallet, such as Ledger Nano S or Trezor

Sort:  

I hold, and I exchange a lot. I don t believe in HW wallets. I have paper-wallets and highly encrypted environments offline.

Hey @fyrstikken nice post and great advice even for the folks that think they're on top of things!

Could you elaborate on what you don't like about HW wallets? I use the Ledger Nano S and, so far, it's been great. I like that it makes it difficult to want to quickly trade my crypto, which gives me a chance to think things through.

I've also verified (twice now) that the 24-word recovery seed correctly restores my HW wallet. I did it once when I first got the Nano S as part of a test for this @steemit post: Testing Recovery of a Hierarchical Deterministic (HD) Hardware Cryptocurrency Wallet and I did the recovery again recently when upgrading the Nano S firmware to get support for the Dash wallet.

Paper wallets are near the top of the list for safety as well but with a small window of risk when you go to enter your private key into the computer, as which point it could be theoretically compromised.

QUESTION: Does master-password = owner-private-key = password-for-the-owner-key? If so, then why is @steemit using so many terms to describe the same thing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44