You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Former Narcotics Officer: Should Snitches Get Stitches?

in #nevergetbusted8 years ago

"Should snitches get stitches?" - If a person is snitching on a victimless crime perhaps.

Yet wouldn't you also consider Edward Snowden or any Whistleblower a Snitch? Yet I consider them heroes, I'd rather see them given the Nobel Peace Prize than get stitches.

So it truly depends on the situation and is highly subjective.

Sort:  

Please watch the video. The question I pose is in the video, not the title.

First... thanks for telling me to watch the video. It was worth it.

My personal stance on this are there are two ways I can look at this. The Long Term Goals, and the Short Term Goals.

We live in a reality where you are trying to help people NOW. This does remove some philosophical considerations. I am very much an Anarchist, and I think that solves this dilemma but it very long term so doesn't really help people that need help now. THAT is what you do. You help people now, which means you have to fight within some really corrupt and dicey circumstances that while they shouldn't exist US wishing them away doesn't make them go away and it doesn't help the people you are trying to help. So I too will try to answer you from the short TERM now perspective.

This is obviously going to depend a lot on your personal circumstances and information only you have. If the person that you recently had call you that has your confidence indicates they are going to snitch. You have expressed that you would keep that confidential. That is a contract between you and the person whether verbal or non-verbal. IF They do snitch what will the ramifications be? Are they extreme enough that you believe it is likely worth breaking the contract and thus damaging potentially your future credibility. This is a personal thing. Perhaps credibility is less important than saving lives. Only you can decide that for you. Can you potentially help MORE people by insuring your trust level remains untarnished? Is what they are informing on bad enough potentially that people knowing you turned on the informant would not tarnish your reputation?

It is a really tough question, and so much of it depends on information only you have access to.

I believe if a person witnesses murders, assaults, etc around drugs that I have ZERO problem with them informing on that. I do think it is wrong of people to inform on people just for the drugs alone. Yet as I stated I am an anarchist. I could care less what you do with your own body until you harm another person or their property.

You need to do some serious weighing of probabilities based upon what you know, and likely choose the one that has the most desirable outcome for you.

I may be tainted though as I am not religious and don't really care about the sanctity of a confessional and things like that. If it will save lives I have zero problem with a snitch, or snitching. I likely would have been one of the people you'd have difficulty turning though as if there were no lives in danger I would not snitch due to breaking "law" even if you threatened my family. I also don't really put myself into situations where I'd likely ever be put into that situation, so I could be blowing smoke out of my ass due to never having been there.

Good post Barry, keep it up.

Will do. Will respond if I have any specifics to add. I got interrupted before I could watch it, which is also why I am only just now responding to this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38