You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Molecules to Mental States: Psychological Stress and Cell Death

in #neuroscience7 years ago (edited)

Yes, I too share such a caution. I certainly do not intend to suggest that Lynx 2 could be fully responsible for the grand sum of cell death and plasticity, but rather I wanted to show how a single gene and its protein can have behavioral and cognitive implications.

This modulator is a particularly good example in my opinion, as it is:

  • Up regulated during the critical period
  • Causes the physiology of MDT cells which project to the mPFC to exhibit kinetics which reduce LTP downstream
  • Deletion causes excitotoxicity in the mPFC cells after nicotine infusion to MDT projections
  • And it is conserved well across rodents and humans

Also, they are doing some human assessments for certain things which I am not at liberty to disclose as they are yet to be published.

Sort:  

Exciting! do let us know when they are published. apoptosis is a fascinating topic. What's your next article going to be on?

Not sure yet, but I plan to write one tomorrow when I have a free moment!

Hey all. I started taking proposals for topics people are interested in. See the post for what topics I can explain off the cuff. More in-depth ones will take longer but I look forward to interacting.

https://steemit.com/health/@toxdocx/community-interest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70