Migration of Alternative Media to Steemit

in #networking7 years ago (edited)

I'm excited to see so many from the alternative media deciding to move their work to Steemit, especially since the news of YouTube demonetizing channels, rampant Twitter shadow banning of accounts such as Julian Assange's and others, Facebook's blatant censorship tactics, and the fact that there's more trolls on mainstream social media networks, namely Facebook, than a game of Whack-A-Mole.

I decided to compile a list of those whose work I deeply appreciate in alternative media and for those who may be interested in following, as well.

Some of these accounts have been on board longer than others and there's a few who are merely starting out, yet have full intention in utilizing the benefits of the Steemit platform and migrating their work here.

Here's my list of the top seven names to follow in alternative, independent media -

  1. @Dbroze - Derrick Broze of the Conscious Resistance Network, and popularly known for his intern work with "Adam Vs. The Man".
  2. @AdamKokesh By far one of my favorites, Adam decided to make the switch a few months ago by uploading most of his videos to DTube.
  3. @CareyWedler Carey decided to make the leap to Steemit less than a couple of weeks ago and is reaping the benefits from posting her content! Carey is the editor in chief of well known alternative media publisher, The Anti-Media.
  4. @corbettreport - James Corbett has been one name I have followed extensively throughout the years and has truly been an inspiration to many.
  5. @JohnVibes - John and Derrick published the "The Conscious Resistance Trilogy", a set of books helping the freedom loving individual better understand anarchy, agorism, and techniques to free oneself from the state - I highly recommend for anyone looking for means to defeat the system. He is also known for his work at The Free Thought Project and True Activist, Free Your Mind conferences, and his book, "Alchemy of the Timeless Renaissance".
  6. @dollarvigilante - Certainly a name to be reckoned with, Jeff Berwick's posts introduced me to the Steemit platform long before most people jumped on board.
  7. @LarkenRose - Another intelligent human whom I would suggest listening to if you're curious on learning ways to deal with statists and tyrannical government agents.

Honorable mentions: Activist Post- @activistpost, Max Igan - @maxigan, Luke Rudkowski- @lukewearechange, Dan Dicks - @pressfortruth, Jeremy Harding - @insanityisfree, Jeffrey Hann - @jeffreyahann, Tyagananda Swaraj- @tyagananda, Catherine Bleish- @catherinebleish, Danilo Cuellar- @danilo-cuellar, Claire Bernish- @clairebernish, Paul Gordon- @paulgordon, Jeremy Henggeler of Freedom Feens notoriety - @abolitionistjay, Shane Radliff of Liberty Under Attack, and author at The Conscious Resistance Network -@shaneradliff, Tony Sayers- @tonysayers33, and Markie Balentine - @markie123567, and Glen M. Sutphin-@nelga.

These are just a few of those I openly support on Steemit and I've heard there will be several others focusing more intently on engaging Steemit as a decentralized platform to share ideas and be rewarded for their work.

If I've overlooked anyone in the alternative, independent media that you think are well worth lending my support to on Steemit, please feel free to add his or her name in the comment section! Thanks!

Remember, this is a great community because each of us makes it what it is!

Sort:  

I'm excited that people are coming over here too. A fellow facebook admin and I have been promoting Steemit in our pages and groups. You compiled a great list of people. Keep up the good work! Shared to some Facebook pages. Take care. :)

Thanks, @sunsquall! I thought it was fitting to include some of the people whom I listen to quite often, these are the people who make my online life interesting and have shared some ideas with me over the years that really triggered a new thought paradigm for me, basically changing my mind from being a one time voter, to throwing the towel in concerning elections and politics to who I am today, a full blown anarchist and agorist.

Thanks also for sharing my content to your Facebook pages, I truly appreciate it!!

I know! With so many adding their media onto the dtube platform, you're surely to outweigh YouTube in 2018 as a contender, DTube!!

You're welcome, I'm so glad to see so many of those I consider friends from other social networks on Steemit. I wanted to create some sort of list for others to also find their most valued people here on the platform!

Yes, that seems like a good idea. I'm glad i finally jumped on this platform. I'm still getting used to things but I like it so far. :)

Steemit has truly helped me to become a content creator and a better writer. Here, I get the chance to put out my own work and see it being rewarded, one of the many reasons why I value Steemit.

i also decided to join steemit :) this is markie btw :D

Hey, Markie! I'm glad you're on board with us! I think you'll do well here posting your YouTubes to DTube and you can also use DLive - it's dlive.io

I'm excited to see what you come up with as you've done well on the other social media platforms and gained a lot of regular followers.

Wishing you all the best.

P.S. I updated my post to include you!

Hey Nexusvortex!
That's a great list of people! There's a lot of honorable mentions I didn't know about because I've really gotten off all mainstream social media.
I'm still on YouTube really only for a handful of content creators in the alt media.
Now that WeAreChange and Corbett Report are actively posting here, there's only like 2 other video makers I have to go to YouTube to to support.

I'll keep encouraging them in the comments to make the jump over to Steemit!

Really sweet list otherwise, I can tell we are vybing on a similar frequency band with these agorist and voluntaryist ideas!!!

Thanks for the great comment, I appreciate that you took the time to read my post and put in the effort to reply.
I am hoping to make new friendships with people who are also freedom loving individuals, so it's always good to find people who think along similar lines such as agorism.

I hope to read more of your content in the near future. Wishing you all the best.

Hi. I've been looking your profile over (that sounds creepy I know) and you seem to be inline with me ideologically i.e. you are an anarchist. You are relatively new here like I am.

I'm starting a project and looking for partners and so far you seem like a good fit. If you hang out on discord somewhere I would like to get together and talk about it if you are interested.

Thanks, I am on discord now and then, if you want you can send me an invite and I will be more than happy to chat. Let me know when is a good time for you! Have a great day @wdougwatson.

Hi @nexusvortex777

Sorry, work has had me swamped.

This will primarily be a curation project for anarchist content to begin with.

I am not seeking donations from you or anything like that. I am simply looking for a partner to help build this project.

Being a fellow agorist and young Steemian with a positive attitude like myself you seem like a good fit.

Here is the info on the project:
https://steemit.com/tloes/@wdougwatson/announcing-the-legion-of-evil-steemians

Please read it over and reply there if you are interested. That way I can quit polluting your thread here.

:-D

Thanks for the reply.

:-)

Good thing you're not seeking donations because I don't have anything to donate! =) All of my SBD is tied up in SP except for maybe a little over $1, so I wouldn't be able to help that way!

I'll definitely give your post a look over!

Have a great day!

Yes, I can think of quite a few that would be great. I don't know if you are familiar with Jordan Sather, https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVTRzCXvIbdK0Y1ZxD-BlA but he is a young man, who reports everyday on utube a lot of alternative stories, and encourages critical thinking. He has been talking about starting a blog; I suggested he consider steemit. Would be great to see him here.

I'll check him out, too. Thanks, @shevans

Great post! Come with me!

Thanks, @grisotti. I honestly try my best to post decent content when I do post, however most of my time I have committed to commenting on other people's content in hopes to increase honest dialogue with others, hopefully form friendships, learn new ideas, and become more of an active member on the platform.

I don't post for the money as much as I do in order to attempt to raise my reputation score, and I've learned that increasing the score grows more and more difficult the higher you go up the ladder.

Right now, I'm stuck at 45, holding onto what little bit of SP I have and commenting my true thoughts on other people's work as much as I reasonably can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78