The Introvert's Guide To Networking

in #networking5 years ago

Last week I went to a conference called ClamourCon I saw something that really surprised me. In fact it wasn’t a something, but a someone. This person, a self professed introvert, was one of the best networked people I know, with connections from Holly wood to the venture capital world, to personal development world. Once I found this out about him, I began to ask him how that all came about and that’s what I want to share with you today.

His name by the way is Evan Carmichael, he’s a YouTuber who makes inspiring content for entrepreneurs. I’ll put a link to his channel in the description. So here’s what I saw from him.

First off, redefine what constitutes a networking event. Most things with “networking” in the title are a complete waste of time. It attracts people who are looking to develop a network instead of a relationship. And it’s especially bad if you’re an introvert, since you’ll be competing with a bunch of other people hungry to share their story and what they are working on.

0:50 Redefine your networking philosophy as per Evan Carmichael
2:15 Be open to people and have confidence and believe in yourself
3:28 Know what people want which is easier for an introvert
5.07 Play matchmaker and help others in their self improvement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51