A Plea to All Discord Server Admins and Managers, Also Steem-related Discord Server Admins

in #netiquette6 years ago (edited)

Discord is a wonderful and tool. Since years the free chat app has disrupted the world of chat applications and gained traction. By lack of a Steem-based chat solution, Discord has become one of the to go-to platforms for Steem communities who wish to organise themselves and interact more than just via posts and comments.

Together with the rocket.chat based Steemit.chat platform Discord has become one of the main tools, and procrastination locations, for most Steemians. While personally I may wish to see more adoption of the awesome Riot.im platform, Discord probably hosts most, and some of the biggest and most active, Steem-related communities.

654E1F37-C76F-481B-9465-D9BCC9E8D037.jpeg

So far so good.

But, dearest Discord server admins, and managers, we need to talk.

Just like many other Steemians I often join a new server to check it out and, hopefully, meet new Steem members, network, and possibly even become friends long-term. In a short time only, it has been an awesome ride already and I certainly have discovered people I wish to get to know better thanks to Discord.

But I’m not dopamine-driven.

Sadly enough, most Discord servers I join leave a bad first impression, a sour taste in my mouth. Discord is an awesome application and the team behind it is very smart and continuously expands the platform, also with new features. One of those is the ability to set the default level of notifications for a whole server.

Can you see where this is going, dear admins?

If the shoe fits and right now you feel a slight sense of guilt, then yes I mean you. You with the Discord server which spams notifies me every time somebody farts posts something.

Eventually, like many others, I end up muting the server but somehow it feels that muting a server isn’t ideal a solution. I actually dislike muting a server and for those less eloquent technically, it can be a pain to discover how to do when using the mobile app.

D9C6C8AD-168E-48CE-B8E3-7BFC70E154E9.jpeg

There’s simple solution to this. One of the features available to Discord server admins is to disable all notifications by default, or set to only @mentions. This features is (on mobile) available under server settings -> overview.

Dear Discord server Admins and Managers, do everybody a favour and please apply this setting as default. As a bonus, also suppress the option to everyone to make use of the @everyone tag. Most people love the interaction offered by platforms such as Discord, but the noise level from notifications is often too much.

Please allow your members to decide how many notifications we welcome, decide on an opt-in basis rather than on an opt-out basis.

The notifications problem is even worse when people beam their music to a (wireless) speaker and the music is interrupted by notifications every x.

Thanks in advance,

 

Your friend, @FknMayhem

separator

Hey there, you’re reading this on my main account, @FknMayhem.

I also tumbl awesome content I find across the Steem ecosystem, and sometimes not on a Blockchain [gasp!]based sites, from my alt account @dashroom, AKA FknMayhem².

If you wish to keep updated with those discoveries, don’t hesitate to follow me over there. I think you may like it if you love Steem and thought-provoking reads. Be warned though, there may be days on which It Might Get Loud.

I am also on zeh Titter. Feel free to pitch me your worthy suggestions there. But make them worth my time, please.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46