I Finally Broke Down and Got a Netflix Account (For the First Time Ever) - Recommendations?

in #netflix7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians!

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 8.29.18 PM.png

My wife and I don't have cable television, and I haven't watched it for years, but I do like to watch a good movie before bed or a good episode of a good show.

We figured that for $10 a month we can stop trying to find free streaming movies online (dodgy) and not have to worry about crappy loading shits.

I was wondering if anyone with a Netflix account could recommend some goods series and/or movies that they've seen recently. I literally don't know any of the series on here except The Walking Dead and The Office lol....

Thanks in advance for any help!

  • Papi lindo (My username on Netflix)

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

wow, just got netflux? lol . I would reccomend few tv series. I enjoyed Lost, 24, Prison Break. Also, if you are into syfy, Stargate is cool too: there is Sg1, stargate atlantis, etc. if you like comedy mixed with con artist actions, checkout Leverage.

Thank you! I like good shows that aren't shallow and/or stupid lol.

Sense8, this show will change your life!

Watch Shameless (U.S. version). William Macy is absolutely fantastic in his majorly dysfunctional role as the father of the Gallegher family.

black mirror is a little to paranoid for me but i still had to watch it all.

The episode about the perils of social media called "Nosedive" is a must see!

yes so much more so for steemit users!!

Orange is the new black ;-)

I heard that one was good. :) Thanks

I've just unsubed my Netflix this month, the Aussie government just introduced the "Netflix Tax" and the company hiked the price as well so it went up by 20 percent in one hit. On top of that we only get 1/5 of the content that Netflix serves in 'Murica.
Last Kingdom and Expanse are two high quality shows I'd recommend.
Bo Jack Horseman and Kimmy Schmidt for some unconventional comedy.
and Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency for something completely different!
Enjoy.

Thanks man, wonder why they didn't offer you guys more in Oz.

It's because of international content distribution rights. Big money in control....


Makes us among the worlds most prolific Pirates!
yeppoon ship.jpg
Off To The Pirate Bay For Ye, Laddie


~bryan @overthewait

White Collar!

I'll be sure to check it out! Thanks!

It's honestly one of my all time favorite shows! I hope you like it lol. You'll have to follow up with me after you catch a few episodes and let me know what you think.

I'm one of those weirdos with no tv and I try everything in my power to avoid mainstream anything. I got rid of the tv about 20 years ago and have only seen it a handful of times ever since. Nothing ever made me want it back, but I did not watch it much in the first place because I grew up witha dad who was against it. He wanted us to go out and play and then we got one show a week maybe. His choice usually.

I watch documentaries on yt or vimeo if I have any time for that - maybe a few times a month. These days, I'm interested in ancient ruins, steemit and random travel related topics. I'm sure that is no help at all :)

That's pretty much been my past 5 years. I haven't had cable tv, just a tv to watch movies now and again. :)

My last movies were Star Wars (some version) for my son but I slept through it and Batman which I could not sleep through but after a while I just closed my eyes because it was mean and gory and flashing lights or too dark to see. Lightweight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47