Why Netflix Is Too Damn Expensive

in #netflix7 years ago (edited)

I know, I know, it costs less than a happy meal (or does it? How much do these things go for nowadays?)

To be fair, I couln't even tell you how much it actually costs.

The impact on my budget has always been so insignificant I never really paid attention.

I was more than happy to pay for easy access to all the content and unlimited entertainment provided to keep me satisfied and vaguely content.

And that is the problem and the reason why I've decided to speak up today.

It's the reason I ended my relationship with the entertainment giant.

Because once you look past the monetary exchange that goes on un-noticed and take a hard look, Netflix is just too damn expensive.

At the click of a button, it provides us with a selection of title we could only have dreamed up at the height of BlockBusters. Movie titles of all genres, from classics to new releases. And TV shows are the worst. Play one episode, get sucked in for 3 more (unless you are smart enough to turn off the auto-play from your account settings, which wasn't).

Case in point - I've just spent the last 2 weeks and a half binge watching The X-Files.

All 9 seasons of it. At 40 minutes per episode. 21 episode per season.

I've already done the math for you.

That's 126 hours, or 30 hours per week.

As I type these words I have to repress the urge to punch myself.

These 30 hours could have been spend exploring my new neighborhood and meeting people.

These 30 hours could have been used to write more content like this to educate, inspire and entertain.

These 30 hours could have been used to build my business empire.

Or just catch up on my reading list, pull out my tarot cards and reflect on the mysteries of life.

Instead, I've watched a TV show that kept me vaguely content, filling my head with trivia material.

Granted, I wasn't "just" binge watching. With my laptop and tablet next to me, I kept my days filled with busy work, pretending I was "working" with the TV noise in the background... but I've learned that divided attention is akin to no attention at all.

So today I'd like to urge you to join me in pulling the plug and break free.

Reclaim your life and your time. Invest it well and invest it wisely. Aggressively protect and safeguard your focus and attention.

Because when you really think about it, Neftlix is way too damn expensive.

Sort:  

Agreed. X files is pretty cool though, you could have wasted it watching reality tv.

Haha, Tod, thanks for the feedback.

I'm curious as to why you would describe it as clickbait? How would you improve it?

This is my first post on the platform, mostly to get something out there and stop feeling intimidated so I didn't go into as much depth as I would usually have, but I'd love to hear your thoughts on how I can improve my writing in the future :)

good first post, nice work :D

Welcome to the Steemit family! This is a great first post. It's true, there's more to life than binge watching House of Cards.

In the time that we spend watching what diabolical plans Frank Underwood has yet to unleash, we could be spending that same time building our empire and ourselves.

Nicely done, my friend.

Thanks brother, appreciate it!

I've never even watched House of Cards yet (nor Breaking Bad) and not going anywhere near them either!

Time sink I'm trying to avoid right now.

I'll stick with the occasional movie and the retro cartoons here and there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61